

MM5a, L

45783

Christ Church Jubilee and Harvest Festival

1863-1913



September the Twenty-Eight Nineteen Hundred and Thirteen



REV. G. M. INNES

Brief Sketch of the History of Christ Church, London Ontario, Canada

THE formation of the Diocese of Huron in A.D. 1857 and the establishing of London as its See City gave an impetus to the Church of England throughout what is now the South-western peninsula of Ontario.

Besides this, the City of London was rapidly growing to the southward thus rendering it necessary to make provision for the spiritual needs of the people in that section.

The ladies of St. Paul's took up the matter earnestly and enthusiastically and with the aid of an energetic building committee succeeded in providing the increased Church accommodation required.

In A. D. 1862 work upon the new edifice was begun and by April of A.D. 1863 the building was completed and paid for.

In the same year it was consecrated as Christ Church by the Right Reverend Benjamin Cronyn, first Bishop of Huron.

Among those who took an active part in promoting the building of the Church were the late Messrs. Graydon, Ferguson, Whitehead, Robinson and Col. Taylor. The first Rector to be appointed was the Rev. G. M. Innes, subsequently Dean of Huron, by whom cottage meetings and Sunday services in the Central Schoolhouse had previously been held, as well as openair services on the very spot at the corner



REV. JAMES SMYTHE

of Wellington and Hill Streets where Christ Church now stands.

After a short pastorate of one year Mr. Innes removed to Quebec and was succeeded by the Rev. James Smythe who remained in charge for eleven years and then removed to Strathroy.

His successor was the Rev. J. W. P. Smith, afterward Canon of St. Paul's Cathedral, who continued in that position for nearly twenty years, and during whose time a Schoolhouse was built for the Sunday School. On account of ill-health the



REV. J. W. P. SMITH

Rev. Mr. Smith was compelled to resign and in A.D. 1894 was succeeded by the Rev. J. H. Moorhouse.

Shortly after Mr. Moorhouse became Rector, the debt on the Church property was reduced by \$800 through the kind bequest of the late Mr. William Robinson who throughout his connection with Christ Church was its staunch friend and supporter.



REV. J. H. MOORHOUSE

The Rev. J. H. Moorhouse was a faithful preacher and pastor and during his incumbency accomplished much for the spiritual life of the people, until in A.D. 1903 he entered into rest.

The fifth Rector was the Rev. R. S. W. Howard who for seven years ministered to the religious needs of the people.

During Mr. Howard's time the present Organ was erected in memory of his predecessor and many improvements to the interior of the Church were made.



REV. R. S. W. HOWARD

On Mr. Howard's removal to Chatham he was succeeded on Jan. 1st, A.D. 1911 by the present Rector Rev. C. R. Gunne.

Christ Church has a seating capacity of 500, the seats are free, and is equipped with all the appointments necessary for public worship.

The Sunday School is convenient to the Church and the Rectory at 300 Hill Street is a comfertable and commodious brick structure.



REV. C. R. GUNNE

The first baptism recorded in the register of Christ Church, district of London, Huron Decese, was Herry Ardee, son of Henry & Sarah Ann Macky, on 4th July, 1162, by Reverend George M. Innes.

The first recorded marriage is that of Henry George Patriarche to Narmi Crane, both of Woodstock, on the 25th December, 1862, by Peverend George M. Innes.

List of Pew Holders in Christ Church A.D. 1863.

Messrs.

W. M. King

Ingram (Capt, 63rd Regt)
D. C. Macdonald
Alfred Taylor

Jno. R. Cooper Jas. Shanly Jas. Smith

Jno. K. Labatt Nicholas Wilson Moffatt (Major)

Thompson & Morris Weston & Fallows

Amos Weston Henry Roots

John Tracey

Henry Dunn Alex. Dordin

Richard Frank A. Seaton

Wm. Tibbs E. Chambers Wm. Robinson

Jno. Price Jos. Pollard

W. H. Whetter

Hanson Chas. Priddis Thos. Thompson

J. Conway Geo. Goodhue

Otto Greaves Thos. Drury

Messrs.

R. Seaton

F. A. Hall Thomas Evans

George Patten David Hughes

S. Whittaker Wm. Bover

Eldridge A. McCormick

John Hunter W. H. Barber

P. C. Barnard John Frank

Arthur Wallace R. A. K. Hugessen

Beattie, M.D. Powell (Capt.) S. H. Parke

S. M. Bennett

Moffett (Major, R. C. R.)

R. E. Jackson Taylor (Capt.)

W. L. Lawrason Wm. Horton Whitehead

Brock Rance Pritchard And. Cleghorn E. Ledvard

E. Ledyard Jas. Slater Odell

Church & Ward

Cousins

Messrs.

B. Jones
John Tibbs
W. Dogherty
Rodger
Thornton
Thos. Winter
Hall
Jas. H. Grier
Lloyd
Willstead

Mesdames

McIntosh Williams Watson Newell Messrs.

Phillips Bartlett Geo. Craddock Heal Vallier Geo. Fretwell Andrew Erwin McFadden & Phillips Thos. Babbington S. H. Graydon Ferguson

Mesdames

Elliott Elizabeth Field Miller Miss Beddome



ORDER OF SERVICES

Christ Church, 28th of September, 1913



"MORNING" PRAYER

7/AHERSON - 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Hymn 343 Tune, "Nun Danket"
Venite 16 Hymnal
Proper Psalms—lxvi., lxxxi., cxliv. Chants—155, 183 and 277 - Psalter First Lesson - 172 - Deuteronomy viii
First Lesson Deuteronomy viii
Te Deum in F Dykes
Second Lesson St. Luke xii, 15-31
Jubilate Deo 49 Hymnal
Special Collects
Hymn 344 Tune "Monkland"
Prayers
Sermon by REV. R. J. M. PERKINS, M.A., of Ingersoll
Offertory Anthem—"Hail to the Lord's Anointed" Nichol (Words of Anthem will be found in Hymn No. 476)
Hymn 347 Tune, "Golden Sheaves"
EVENING PRAYER
Hymn 346 Tune, "St. George"
Proper Psalms—cxlv. and cxlvii. Chants—278 and 280 Psalter
First Lesson Leviticus xxv. 8-17
Magnificat in F Bunnett
Second Lesson Ephesians iv. 1-16
Nunc Dimittis in F Bunnett
Special Collects
Hymn 348 Tune, "Wir Pflugen"
Prayers
Hymn 354 - Tune, "Duke Street"
Sermon by REV. R. J. M. PERKINS, M.A., of Ingersoll

Offertory Anthem "O Happy Band of Pilgrims" Willgoose
(Words of Anthem will be found in Hymn No. 572)

Hymn 409 Tune, "Dennis"

Fourfold Amen Stainer

Officers for the Present Year

RECTOR C. R. Gunne, M.A.

WARDENS 1913-14

W. A. Hayden

Chancey Smith

LAY DELEGATES TO SYNOD

R. M. McElheran

H. R. Franks

AUDITORS

H. R. Franks A. G. McCormick

ORGANIST AND CHOIRMASTER

J. H. C. Woodward

VESTRY CLERK C. H. Milligan

SIDESMEN

A. G. McCormick E. T. Stephens E. H. Wingett R. M. McElheran L. Quick A. R. Galpin

MISSIONARY COMMITTEE

W. A. Hayden C. Smith F. H. Speer R. Smith R. M. McElheran A. G. McCormick H. R. Franks E. Clegg James Falconer D. J. Vrooman E. T. Stevens R. Mathews

The Young Men of "The Espirit-de-Corps Bible Class"

SEXTON

G. MacKenzie

Printed by H. R. FRANKS & CO, London, Ontario