Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade



## January 16, 1995

No. 9

## MACLAREN NAMES NEW CHAIRPERSONS AND ANNOUNCES RESTRUCTURING OF SECTORAL ADVISORY GROUPS

The Honourable Roy MacLaren, Minister for International Trade, today appointed new chairpersons and members of the Sectoral Advisory Groups on International Trade (SAGITs), which have been restructured and streamlined to reflect current domestic and international realities. Mr. MacLaren welcomed the chairpersons of the International Trade Advisory Committee (ITAC), its task forces and the SAGITs at a meeting in Ottawa.

"The SAGITs have provided an invaluable source of input into the formulation of Canadian trade policy, particularly during the trade negotiations of recent years. With an ever-growing range and number of trade issues affecting the success of Canadian interests abroad, there is a continuing need for frequent, open dialogue between the government and the private sector. I am confident that the renewed SAGITs will enable us to meet the challenges ahead."

While the total number of SAGITS will remain at 15, membership has been reduced from an average of 20 to 17 members. A new SAGIT, Medical and Health Care Products and Services, has been established to ensure that the views of this increasingly important sector are represented and other SAGITs have been combined to reflect common interests.

The ITAC and SAGITS, comprised of senior representatives of the business community, industry associations, labour and academia, provide the Minister for International Trade with advice on trade issues.

- 30 -

An updated list of the ITAC and SAGITs and their chairpersons is attached.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (613) 995-1874

[]¢[

Government Gouvernement of Canada du Canada

Canadä

## SECTORAL ADVISORY GROUPS ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE

#### ADVANCED MANUFACTURING TECHNOLOGIES

Chairperson: Vacant

# AGRICULTURE, FOOD AND BEVERAGES

Chairperson: (William Vaags - interim) Past President, Canadian Pork Council Dugald, Manitoba

#### **APPAREL AND FOOTWEAR**

Chairperson: Jeffrey H. Gertner Executive Vice-President, Mister Leonard Inc. Toronto, Ontario

#### BUSINESS, PROFESSIONAL AND EDUCATIONAL SERVICES

Chairperson: Ms. Lynn J. Haight President, Institute of Certified Management Consultants Toronto, Ontario

#### HOUSEHOLD PRODUCTS

Chairperson: David A. McAllister Vice-President, Marketing, Sabian Limited Meductic, New Brunswick

#### **CULTURAL INDUSTRIES**

Chairperson: G. Scott McIntyre President, Douglas & McIntyre Ltd. Vancouver, British Columbia

#### ENERGY, CHEMICALS AND PLASTICS

Chairperson: Ms. Valerie A. A. Nielsen Oil and Gas Consultant Calgary, Alberta

#### FISH AND SEA PRODUCTS

Chairperson: Donald A. McLean President and Chief Executive Officer British Columbia Packers Limited Richmond, British Columbia

January 1995

#### FOREST PRODUCTS

Chairperson: (Mike Apsey - interim) President and Chief Executive Officer Council of Forest Industries of British Columbia Vancouver, British Columbia

#### INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND TELECOM PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

Chairperson: Ms. Janice Moyer President, Information Technology Association of Canada Mississauga, Ontario

#### MEDICAL AND HEALTH CARE PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

Chairperson: Alan Backley CMC, Principal Resources Management Consultant Toronto, Ontario

#### MINING, METALS AND MINERALS

Chairperson: Dr. C. George Miller President, The Mining Association of Canada Ottawa, Ontario

#### TEXTILES, FUR AND LEATHER

Chairperson: Basile Toutoungi President, Fils Spécialisés Dominion Saint-Laurent, Quebec

#### TRANSPORTATION EQUIPMENT

Chairperson: Kenneth W. Harrigan Past Chairman, Ford Canada Oakville, Ontario

#### TRANSPORTATION SERVICES

Chairperson: Ms. Maria Rehner President, The Canadian Industrial Transportation League Don Mills, Ontario

## INTERNATIONAL TRADE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

### INTERNATIONAL TRADE ADVISORY COMMITTEE (ITAC)

Chairperson: Marshall A. Cohen President and Chief Executive Officer The Molson Companies Ltd. Toronto, Ontario

#### **ITAC TASK FORCE ON TRADE POLICY**

Chairperson: Ms. Marie-Josée Drouin Director General Hudson Institute Montreal, Quebec

## ITAC TASK FORCE ON INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Chairperson: Derrick Rowe

President NEWEast Wireless Inc. St. John's, Newfoundland

#### ITAC TASK FORCE ON TRADE AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Chairperson: Gary Nash Secretary-General International Council on Metals and the Environment Ottawa, Ontario

January 1995