

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

No.: 63

DIFFUSION: RELEASE:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE AUGUST 1, 1980

EIGHTH COMMONWEALTH EDUCATION CONFERENCE

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mark MacGuigan, announced today that Charles G. Gallagher, Minister of Education, New Brunswick, will lead the Canadian Delegation to the Eighth Commonwealth Education Conference to be held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, from the 5th to the 13th of August, 1980.

The theme of the conference is "Education and the Development of Human Resources". Briefly, its objectives will be to review present schemes of Commonwealth co-operation in education, focus attention on major educational trends and problems, and identify means by which further Commonwealth co-operation might benefit member countries. Among the subjects to be discussed are the future of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, the development of technical, scientific and mathematical education and the role of non-formal education.

The first four days of the conference will focus mainly on expert level discussion of technical matters. The second part of the conference will consist of a plenary session at the ministerial level.

The list of the Canadian Delegation follows:

Charles G. Gallagher -- Head of Delegation, Minister of Education, Province of New Brunswick.

Elie Fallu, Deputy Head of Delegation, Member of the National Assembly, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Education, Quebec.

Alois P. Hiebert, Deputy Head of Delegation, Member of the Legislative Assembly, Chairman, Caucus Committee on Education, Province of Alberta.

R. James Carter, Assistant Deputy Minister of Education (Schools), British Columbia.

Blenis J. Nicholson, Chief Director, Education Programmes, Nova Scotia Department of Education.

List of Canadian Delegation (continued)

Alan Earp, President, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada; President and Vice-Chancellor, Brock University.

John M. Harrington, Director, Academic Relations Division, Department of External Affairs, Ottawa.

Lucien Perras, Executive Director, Secretariat of the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada.

Merrick Spalding, Director, Programme Coordination, Education Support Branch, Secretary of State Department, Ottawa.

Archibald R. MacKinnon, Head, Education Section, Canadian International Development Agency, Ottawa.

Rubymay Parrott, President, Canadian School Trustees Association.

Russell D. Mosher, Deputy Secretary General, Canadian Teachers' Federation.

Advisers

Jim Hrabi, Associate Deputy Minister, Alberta Department of Education.

Deidre Roeser, Administrative Assistant, Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Committee.

Bruce Wilson, Canadian High Commission, Colombo.

Observer

Kathleen Whalen, Associate Director, International Office, Association of Canadian Community Colleges.