

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

N°: 125

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE SEPTEMBER 27, 1983

DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND SECRETARY OF STATE FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS TO LEAD THE CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE 38TH SESSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 38th regular session of the United Nations General Assembly, which convened at United Nations Headquarters, New York, on Tuesday, September 20. Mr. MacEachen will head the Delegation, whose principal members are listed overleaf.

- 30 -



Canadä

THE CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE 38TH REGULAR SESSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Representatives

The Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, M.P., P.C.	Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs
The Honourable Jean Luc Pepin, M.P., P.C.	Minister of State

The Honourable Gérard Pelletier, P.C.

The Hon. Senator Michael Pitfield, Q.C.

Mr. Pierre Deniger, M.P.

Alternate Representatives

Mr. Michael Shenstone

Mr. Gabriel Warren

Mr. Terence Bacon

Mr. David Lee

Mr. R.M. Middleton

Special Advisors

Prof. Donald Berry

Assistant Deputy Minister, Political and International Security Affairs

Director General, Multilateral and Intergovernmental Affairs Bureau

Director General, Legal Affairs Bureau

(External Relations)

Member of Parliament (Laprairie, Quebec)

New York

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations,

Minister and Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations, New York

Director United Nations Affairs

Department of Political Science, University of Calgary Calgary, Alberta

Prof. Roddick Byers Director, Research Program in Stratetic Studies York University Toronto, Ontario Dr. W.S.H. Crawford Faculty of Mathematics Mount Allison University Sackville, New Brunswick Prof. André Donneur Faculty of Political Science University of Quebec, Montreal, Quebec Ruth James Consultant with the Co-operative College of Canada Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Prof. Edward McWhinney Department of Political Science and Public Law Simon Fraser University Vancouver, British Colombia Prof. Louis Sabourin Faculty of Economic Organization, Ecole National d'Administration Publique, Montreal, Quebec