

PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

10. 63

FOR ILLEDIATE RELEASE

September 6, 1950

The Secretary of State for External Affairs today announced the composition of the Canadian delegation to the international Conference on Tariffs and Trade which is scheduled to open in Torquay, England, on September 28.

The delegation will be as follows:

Chairman of Delegation

Mr. L. D. Wilgress, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom

Deputy Chairman

Mr. H. B. McKinnon, Chairman, Canadian Tariff Board Representatives

Mr. J. J. Deutsch, Department of Finance
Dr. C. M. Isbister, Department of Trade and Commerce
Mr. W. J. Callaghan, Department of Finance
Mr. Louis Coullard, Department of External Affairs
Mr. A. L. Neal, Department of Trade and Commerce
Mr. S. S. Reisman, Department of Finance
Dr. A. E. Richards, Department of Agriculture
Mr. B. G. Barrow, Department of Trade and Commerce
Mr. H. V. Jarrett, Department of Trade and Commerce
Mr. J. P. C. Gauthier, Department of Trade and Commerce

Secretary

¢

Mr. H. H. Wright, Department of External Affairs

The Torquay Conference will include two sets of meetings under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. The first will consist of a third round of multilateral tariff negotiations commencing when the Conference opens. These meetings will follow the pattern of the Geneva (1947) and Annecy (1949) tariff negotiations and are expected to continue for six months.

The second set of meetings will take place under the terms of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade which require CONTRACTING PARTIES to meet from time to time to give effect to certain provisions of the Agreement which involve joint action and, generally, to facilitate the operation and to further the objectives of the Agreement. These meetings opening on November 2, will be the fifth such session of CONTRACTING PARTIES since the negotiation of the General Agreement at Geneva in 1947.

/2....

Mr. Wilgress has been re-elected Chairman of the CONTRACTING PARTIES; in that position he will preside over the tariff negotiations and the Fifth Session of the CONTRACTING PARTIES.

Mr. McKinnon will be Chairman of the two Canadian megotiating teams; for this purpose he will be seconded to the Department of External Affairs. Mr. Deutsch of the Department of Finance will be in charge of the negotiations with regard to Canadian tariffs and Mr. Isbister of the Department of Trade and Connerce will be in charge of the negotiations with regard to foreign tariffs.

The following countries are expected to participate in the Torquay Conference:

Australia Austria Benelux (i.e. Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxenburg) Brazil Eurna Ceylon Chile Cuba Czechoslovakia Denmark Dominican Republic Finland France Western Germany Greece Guatemala Haiti

6

K

India Indonesia Italy Liberia New Zealand Nicaragua Norway Pakistan Peru The Philippines Sweden Syria-Lebanon Union Turkey United Kingdom Union of South Africa United States Uruguay

-