Government Gouvernement du Canada

news release

Date March 2, 1994

For release

CANADIAN JUDGES APPOINTED FOR NAFTA EXTRAORDINARY CHALLENGE COMMITTEES

International Trade Minister Roy MacLaren today announced the appointment of a roster of five judges from which members will be selected to serve on extraordinary challenge committees established under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

The NAFTA extraordinary challenge procedure is the final stage of dispute settlement and is reserved only for extraordinary circumstances, following rulings by panels established under Chapter 19 of the NAFTA.

The procedure may be used if:

i) a member of a panel was guilty of gross misconduct, bias, or a serious conflict of interest, or otherwise materially violated the rules of conduct;

ii) a panel seriously departed from a fundamental rule of procedure; or

iii) a panel manifestly exceeded its powers, authority or jurisdiction, set out in the Agreement, <u>and</u>

these alleged actions materially affected the panel's decision and threatened the integrity of the binational review process. Decisions by extraordinary challenge committees are binding on governments.

The roster is attached.

Canada

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (613) 995-1874 No. 34

ROSTER FOR EXTRAORDINARY CHALLENGE COMMITTEES

Colas, Réjane L., supernumerary Justice, Superior Court of Quebec, Montréal, Quebec

Dickson, R.G. Brian, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario

Estey, Willard Z., former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, Toronto, Ontario

Hart, Gordon L.S., supernumerary Justice, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Proudfoot, Patricia M., supernumerary Justice, Court of Appeal, British Columbia and Yukon, Vancouver, British Columbia