

CANADA

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE THIRD UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT (UNCTAD)

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced today that the Honourable Paul Martin, P.C., Leader of the Government in the Senate, will lead the Canadian Delegation to the Third United Mations Conference on Trade and Development which opens in Santiago on April 13 and will conclude during the third week of May. This will be a large conference; delegations from more than 130 states plus representatives of the whole United Mations system will be present. UNCTAD is the organization within the United Mations responsible for the promotion of trade with a view to encouraging development, particularly among the developing countries. The first UNCTAD was held in Geneva in 1964 and the Honourable Paul Martin also led the Canadian Delegation to that Conference.

It is expected that questions of access for products of the developing world to markets of industrialized countries, possible special measures to assist the least-developed of the developing countries, and recent developments in the international monetary system will be among the main items of consideration at the Conference.

Senator Hartin expects to remain in Santiago for the opening period of the Conference. Following his departure, the Canadian Ambassador to Venezuela, Hr. D. S. HcPhail, will lead the delegation. Other members of the delegation going to Santiago include:

Alternate Head of Delegation

J. M. Rochon, Special Adviser, Netals and Linerals, Office of General Relations, Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

Deputy Head of Delegation

E. J. Bergbusch, Counsellor, Permanent Lission of Canada to the Office of the United Lations, Geneva.

Alternate Representatives

G. II. Schuthe,
Director,
Industry, Trade and Traffic,
Services Branch,
Department of Industry, Trade
and Commerce.

L. J. Leavey, Executive Director and Legal Adviser, Water Transport Committee, Canadian Transport Commission.

Miss M. C. Fletcher, Canadian International Development Agency.

Alternate Representatives (Continued)

D. A. Roberts, Department of Finance.

Mirs. M. Y. Catley-Carlson, Department of External Affairs.

C. Hercier, Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

J. M. Robinson, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission of Canada to the Office of the United Mations, Geneva.

G. C. King, Department of Finance.