

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

## communiqué

No: 3

DIFFUSION: RELEASE: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MARCH 28, 1978

1978 CANADA-BELGIUM LITERARY AWARD TO CANADIAN WRITER JACQUES GODBOUT

Quebec writer Jacques Godbout was awarded the Canada-Belgium Literary Prize for 1978. The \$2,500 prize is given annually to French-language writers with the award going in alternate years to Canadian or Belgian authors. It is awarded for an author's total contribution to literature rather than for a particular work. The prize is financed, on the Canadian side, by the Cultural Affairs Division of the Department of External Affairs and administered by the Canada Council.

Laureates are selected by a jury appointed in Belgium by the Belgian Ministry of French Culture and in Canada by the Canada Council. The Belgian jury this year was composed of Messrs. Charles Bertin, Pierre Mertens, Léo Moulin and Jean Tordeur, and chaired by Mr. Jean Rémiche, General Administrator of the Belgian Ministry of French Culture. In explaining its unanimous choice, the jury declared: "As much by its highly personalized style as by the breadth of its spirit, its rejection of all convention, its disdain for all forms of dogmatism, its inventiveness and a joyfulness which does not deny a sense of the tragic nor dilute the strength of his ideas, the author's work impresses and convinces."



.../2

Born in Montreal in 1933, Jacques Godbout is both poet and novelist, journalist and filmmaker. He was awarded the France-Canada Literary Prize in 1962 for his novel "L'Aquarium", the Governor General's Prize in 1967 for "Salut Galarneau!", the Prix Dupau of the Académie française in 1973 for "D'Amour P.Q." and the Duvernay Prize for his contribution to literature in general. Mr. Gobout is also President of the Union des Ecrivains québécois.

Previous winners of this award are Belgian poet Geo Norge, who received the inaugural prize in 1971; Canadian poet Gaston Miron, recipient in 1972; Belgian writer Suzanne Lilar in 1973; Canadian novelist Réjean Ducharme (in 1974), Pierre Mertens of Belgium (in 1975), Marie-Claire Blais (in 1976); and, last year, Belgian novelist Marcel Moreau.

- 30 -

INFORMATION:

Cultural Affairs Division Department of External Affairs (613) 996-5293

Information Office Canada Council (613) 237-3400