# Family Allowances Act. 1973

## (Division No. 173)

Gauthier

(Windsor West)

### YEAS Members

Murphy

Orlikow

Nicholson

(Trinity)

Althouse Benjamin Berger Blackhurn (Brant) Boudria Broadbent Caccia Cassidy Copps Deans de Corneille Dingwall Finestone Foster Frith Garneau Attewell Beatty Belsher Bernier Bertrand Blais Blenkarn Blouin Bourgault Brightwell Brisco Browes Cadieux Cardiff Clark (Brandon-Souris) Comeau Corbett Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Crofton Darling Daubney de Cotret Della Noce Desiardins Domm Dorin Duplessis Edwards Elzinga Epp (Provencher) Fennell Ferland Fontaine Fraleigh Fretz Friesen Gagnon Gass Gervais Gormley

Heap Henderson Hopkins Hoydebo Kaplan Keeper Langdon MacLellan Malépart Marchi McCurdy McDonald (Broadview-Greenwood) Mitchell NAVS Members Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Gurbin Gustafsor Halliday Hardey Hawkes Hicks Hnatyshyn Holtmann Horner Howie James Jardine Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Kempling La Salle Layton Leblanc Lesick Lewis MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) Malone Mantha Marin Martin Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) McKinnon McKnight McLean McMillan Merrithew Minaker Mitges Moore

Ouellet Parry Penner Pépin Prud'homme Robichaud Rohinson Rompkey Rossi Tobin Young-46.

Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Nielsen Oberle O'Neil Paprosk Pennock Peterson Plamondon Price Ravis Reid Reimer Ricard St. Germain Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Siddon Sparrow Speyer Stackhouse Stewart Suluk Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Valcourt Vincent Weiner Wenman White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard-123.

• (1710)

Gottselig

Graham

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Mr. Gray (Windsor West): Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. Mr. Speaker, if you would seek the consent of the House, I think that you would find a disposition that the vote just taken can apply to all the votes yet to be taken, except for a vote on Motion No. 9.

Mr. Deans: Which could be done in the reverse.

Mr. Speaker: Do I take it that the recorded division on Motion No. 4 shall be taken in exactly the same way? The Hon. Member for Mégantic-Compton-Stanstead (Mr. Gérin) wishes to be recorded as voting in the negative on Motion No. 4.

#### Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: The next question is on Motion No. 4. Ms. Mitchell, seconded by Mr. Deans, moves:

## Motion No. 4

That Bill C-70, be amended in Clause 4

(a) by striking out lines 39 and 40 at page 2 and substituting the following therefor:

"person or institution is entitled and where that person or institution has not been convicted of an offence under section 20 in connection with the obtaining of the allowance, the Minister shall remit all of the allowance or amount in excess of the allowance in any case where these result from a calculation based on a new certificate issued pursuant to subsection 15.1(2); in any other case, the Minister may remit all or any portion of the amount or excess of the allowance where the Minister is satisfied that"

(b) by striking out lines 10 to 16 at page 3 and substituting the following therefor:

## "Act."

Althouse

Benjamin

Blackburn

(Brant)

Broadbent

Berger

Boudria

Caccia

Cassidy

Copps

Deans

de Corneille

Dingwall

Finestone

Garneau

Attewell

Beatty

Belsher

Bernier

Blais

Bertrand

Blenkarn

Bourgault

Brightwell

Blouin

Brisco

Browes

Cadieux

Cardiff

Comeau

Corbett

Côté

(Brandon-Souris)

(Lac-Saint-Jean)

Clark

Foster

Frith

The House divided on the motion (Ms. Mitchell) which was negatived on the following division:

## (Division No. 174)

## YEAS

Members Gauthier (Windsor West) Heap Henderson Hopkins Hoydebo Kaplan Keeper Langdon MacLellan Malépart Marchi McCurdy McDonald (Broadview-Greenwood)

NAYS

Members Crofton Darling Daubney de Cotret Della Noce Desjardins Dick Domm Dorin Duplessis Edwards Elzinga Epp (Provencher) Fennell Ferland Fontaine Fraleigh Fretz Friesen

Murphy Nicholson (Trinity) Nunziata Orlikow Ouellet Parry Penner Prud'homme Robichaud Robinson Rompkey Ross Tobin Young—46

Mitchell

Gagnon Gass Gérin Gormley Gottselig Graham (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hardey Hawkes Hicks Hnatyshyn Holtmann Horner