April 16, 1874

constituted a glorious page in the history of our country, were it not that it was stained with the blood of poor Scott. In conclusion, he said that they had no right to expel Riel until they had substantial evidence of the truth of the charges made against him.

Mr. SINCLAIR contended that there was no necessity for a report of the Committee on the Northwest troubles. The Committee had no power to determine whether Riel was or was not a fugitive from justice. Had Mr. Bowell proved that Riel was a fugitive? In his opinion he had, and he should therefore vote for his expulsion.

Mr. DESJARDINS (in French) expressed himself in favour of Mr. Holton's amendment. He was in favour of an amnesty, and believed that the pursuance of this course was the best way to secure it. The Committee might discover that an amnesty had been promised, and, if it did, they had the best assurance that the Government would accord one. He should not vote against the motion of the hon. member for Bagot (Mr. Mousseau), and should vote in favour of Mr. Holton's amendment.

[For the texts of Mr. Bowell's motion on April 15 to expel Louis Riel, Hon. Mr. Holton's amendment to delay the decision until after the committee set up by the House to enquire into the Red River troubles had reported, and Mr. Mousseau's amendment to grant "a full and complete pardon", see Journals of the House of Commons, 1874, pp. 64-65.]

The members were called in, and a vote taken of **Mr. MOUSSEAU'S** amendment, which was rejected on the following division: yeas, 27; nays, 164.

YEAS

Baby Caron Cheval Costigan De Cosmos Flynn Gill Hurteau McDonald (Cape Breton) Masson Mousseau Pinsonneault Robitaille Rvan-27

Appleby Aylmer Béchard Bertram Blackburn Blake Borron Bowell Boyer Brouse Buell Burpee (St. John) Cameron (Cardwell) Cameron (Ontrio South) Cartwright Messrs. Barthe Cauchon Cimon Cunningham (Marquette) Dugas Gaudet Harwood Lantier McDougall (Trois-Rivières) Montplaisir Ouimet Power Rouleau

NAYS

Messrs Archibald Bain Bernier Biggar Blain Borden Bourassa Bowman Brooks Brown Burk Burpee (Sunbury) Cameron (Huron South) Carmichael Casey

Casgrain Chisholm Cockburn Colby Currier Dawson De St-Georges De Veber Domville Dorion Farrow Ferris Fleming Forbes Fréchette Geoffrion Gillies Gordon Hagar Hall Higinbotham Horton Irving Jodoin Jones (Leeds South) Killam Kirkpatrick Laird Landerkin Laurier McCallum Macdonald (Glengarry) McDougall (Renfrew South) McIntvre Mackay (Cape Breton) Mackenzie (Lambton) MacLennan McQuade Mills Moffatt Moss Oakes Oliver Palmer Paterson Pettes Plumb Pozer Rav Robillard Roscoe Ross (Middlesex West) Ross (Victoria) St-Jean Schultz Shibley Smith (Peel) Smith (Westmorland) Stephenson Stuart Thibaudeau Tremblav Tupper Wallace White (Renfrew North) Wood Yeo

Charlton Church Coffin Cunningham (New Westminster) Davies Delorme Desiardins Dewdnev Donahue Dymond Ferguson Fiset Flesher Fournier Galbraith Gibson Gillmor Goudge Haggart Harvev Holton Huntington Jetté Jones (Halifax) Kerr Kirk Laflamme Laioie Langlois Little Macdonald (Cornwall) McDonnell (Inverness) McGregor McIsaac McKav (Colchester) MacKenzie (Montreal West) McLeod Metcalfe Mitchell Monteith Norris O'Donohoe Orton Pâquet Pelletier Pickard Pouliot Prévost Richard Rochester Ross (Durham East) Ross (Prince Edward) Rymal Scatcherd Scriver Sinclair Smith (Selkirk) Snider Stirton Taschereau Thompson (Haldimand) Trow Walker White (Hastings East) Willson Wright (Pontiac)

Hon. Mr. HOLTON'S amendment was then put. It was lost: yeas, 76; nays, 117.

Young-164