Mr. Isabelle, from the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs, presented the Twelfth Report of the said Committee, which is as follows:

On November 29 and December 18, 1968, the subject-matter of the following bills was referred by the House of Commons to the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs for its consideration and report:

Bill C-39, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act (cigarette advertising);

Bill C-45, An Act to restrain the use of Tobacco;

Bill C-53, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act;

Bill C-134, An Act to amend the Tobacco Restraint Act;

Bill C-137, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act (prohibition of cigarette advertising);

Bill C-147, An Act to control the tar content and nicotine level of cigarettes.

In considering the subject-matter of these Bills, your Committee held 28 formal meetings over the period December 19, 1968 to June 19, 1969. These included an initial meeting of the Committee on December 19 when the Hon. John Munro, Minister of National Health and Welfare made an opening statement on the subject of cigarette smoking and health.

The following witnesses were heard during the formal proceedings:

From the Department of National Health and Welfare:

Dr. E. A. Watkinson, Director General of Health Services; Dr. H. N. Colburn, Consultant, Smoking and Health; Dr. G. H. Josie, Assistant Director General of the Health Services Branch.

Mr. Barry Mather, M.P., Sponsor of Bills C-39, C-45 and C-53; Mr. Antonio Yanakis, M.P., Sponsor of Bills C-134 and C-137; Mr. Marvin Howe, M.P., Sponsor of Bill C-147.

Representing the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation:

Mr. Marcel Ouimet, Vice-Chairman, Programming; Mr. O. J. W. Shugg, Director of Commercial Sales Policy and Planning; Mr. Robert Switallo, Assistant Director, Sales Policy.

Dr. F. Robert Wake, Associate Professor of Psychology, St. Patrick's College, Ottawa; Dr. G. W. O. Moss, M.D., D.P.H., Deputy Medical Officer of Health, Dept. of Public Health, City of Toronto; Dr. D. W. Thompson, M.D., Dept. of Pathology, Toronto General Hospital; Mr. R. A. Switzer, Dominion Fire Commission, Dept. of Public Works.

Representing the Canadian Medical Association:

Dr. R. M. Matthews, President-Elect; Dr. N. C. Delarue, Assistant Professor (Surgery) University of Toronto; Dr. D. V. Bates, Royal Victoria Hospital; Dr. Y. Morin, Cardiologist-Staff, Laval University; Dr. A. F. W. Peart, General Secretary; Dr. R. M. Lane, Victoria Island Health Centre, Chairman. C.M.A. Standing Committee on Public Health, Victoria; Dr. W. A. Maclean, General Surgeon, Active Staff, Royal Alexander Hospital, Edmonton; Mr. D. A. Geekie, Secretary, Public Relations, C.M.A.

Representing the Canadian Tuberculosis and Respiratory Disease Association:

Dr. C. W. L. Jeanes, Executive Secretary; Mr. F. M. Bradley, Treasurer; Miss Anne Grant, Health Education Consultant.