## CANADA



## RESOLUTION A.70(IV)

## adopted on 28 September 1965

THE ASSEMBLY,

RECOGNIZING the need to increase the number of members of the Maritime Safety Committee and to modify their method of election,

CONSEQUENTLY HAVING ADOPTED, at the fourth regular session of the Assembly, an amendment, the text of which is contained in the Annex to this Resolution, to Article 28 of the Convention on the Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization,

DETERMINES, in accordance with the provisions of Article 52 of the Convention, that the amendment adopted hereunder is of such a nature that any Member which hereafter declares that it does not accept such amendment and which does not accept the amendment within a period of twelve months after the amendment comes into force shall, upon the expiration of this period, cease to be a Party to the Convention,

REQUESTS the Secretary-General of the Organization to effect the deposit with the Secretary-General of the United Nations of the adopted amendment in conformity with Article 53 of the Convention and to receive declarations and instruments of acceptance as provided for in Article 54, and

Invites the Member Governments to accept the adopted amendment at the earliest possible date after receiving a copy thereof from the Secretary-General of the United Nations, by communicating an instrument of acceptance to the Secretary-General for deposit with the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

## Annex

The existing text of Article 28 of the Convention is replaced by the following:

The Maritime Safety Committee shall consist of sixteen members elected by the Assembly from members, Governments of those States having an important interest in maritime safety of which:

- (a) Eight members shall be elected from among the ten largest shipowning States.
- (b) Four members shall be elected in such manner as to ensure that, under this sub-paragraph, a State in each of the following areas is represented:
  - I. Africa
  - II. The Americas
  - III. Asia and Oceania of obsers of suoq mangiv all
  - IV. Europe.
  - (c) The remaining four members shall be elected from among States not otherwise represented on the Committee.