# JOURNAL

## PROCEEDINGS

OFTHE

## HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

OF THE

#### PROVINCE OF NOVA-SCOTIA.

SESSION 1856.

#### 9 YIOTOBLE,

Begun and holden at Halifax, on THUESDAY, the thirty-first day of JANUARY, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred fifty-six, in the nineteenth year of the reign of our Sovereign Lady VICTORIA, by the Grace of GOD of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, Queen, defender of the faith, and of the United Church of England and Ireland, on Earth the Supreme Head.

His excellency Sir JOHN GASPARD LE MARCHANT, having by his proclamation dated the 25th day of April, in the year 1855, (hereunto annexed) dissolved the last General Assembly; and having called a new one, and having by his proclamation dated the 24th day of December, 1855, appointed the same to meet at Halifax, on Thursday, this thirty-first day of January, 1856, then to meet for the *despatch of business*. The following are the names of the members returned by the Sheriffs of the several counties within this province, to represent the same in the said general assembly, summoned to meet as before mentioned, viz:

#### MEMBERS RETURNED BY THE SHERIFFS.

County of Halifax.—John Esson, William Annand.

Lunenburg.—Benjamin Rinhard, George Gilderd. Queens.—John Campbell, Edward D. Davison. Shelburne.—Cornelius White. Yarmouth.—Thomas Killam. Digby.—Francis Bourneuf. Annapolis.—Hon. James W. Johnston. Kings.—Caleb R. Bill, William B. Webster. Cumberland.—Charles Tupper, Alexander McFarlane. Sydney.—John McKinnon, Hon. William A. Henry, soliciotr general. Guysborough.—Stewart Campbell, John J. Marshall. 2

List of members 16turned.