- 46. The Cabinet is the name generally applied to a committee called the Privy Council. This Committee or Cabinet is chosen by the leader of the largest political party in the House of Commons, and is subject to the approval of the House. Each member is called a Minister of the Crown, and generally is placed in charge of some Department of the Government (his Portfolio). Being responsible for the administrative or executive work of the Government, the Cabinet is often referred to as The Administration or The Executive. The chief person—the leader of the Council—is the Prime Minister.
- 47. The Prime Minister—also called the First Minister or the Premier—is the leader of the Cabinet and of the Political Party which dominates the House of Commons. He is the chief official adviser to the Governor-General, and is generally the spokesman for the country in all its foreign and domestic affairs.
- 48. Political Parties. Our system of popular government has been conducted on the Party System—that is, the people range themselves into political parties, and the party which, by the number of representatives it succeeds in electing to Parliament dominates the House of Commons, is the party which controls the Government.
- 49. The Majority Must Prevail. This is the keynote of our system. The majority decides and the minority must acquiesce. This is so in all departments of our public life. At the same time, the right of minorities cannot be ignored nor trampled on with impunity—safeguards are provided against such abuses. There is, therefore, no excuse for a minority resorting to force or other illegal means of attaining a political end; free speech, free assembly and secret ballots are their weapons of offence and defence—their only weapons, but effective weapons.
- 50. Provincial Governments. Each of the nine Provinces of Canada has a Constitution and Government of its own, modelled on the same general lines as those of the Dominion. In each Province there is (a), a Lieutenant-Governor, who is a representative of the King in Provincial matters, and who functions much as the Governor-General does in Dominion matters; (b), a Legislative Assembly, consisting of a number of persons elected from Provincial Constituencies or Ridings for a period not exceeding five years, with general legislative powers in Provincial matters; and (c) a Legislative Council, on the model of the Senate, consisting of members appointed for life. This Council is found only in the Province of Quebec, but formerly other Provinces also had it. In every Province there is also a Provincial Council or Cabinet, chosen from the elected members, with a Provincial Prime Minister and other Ministers.
- 51. Sessions of Legislative Bodies. The Dominion Parliament holds each year at least one session of several months duration for the transaction of legislative and other business. The Governor-General open each session with a "Speech from the Throne", and, when the Session is ended, he "prorogues" Parliament. Each Provincial Legislature also holds an annual session, of considerably shorter duration, for like purposes, opened and closed by its Lieutenant-Governor. Municipal Councils—in Cities, Towns, Villages and Rural Municipalities—also hold sessions, much more brief and frequent.
- 52. Election to Legislative Bodies. Upon the dissolution of Parliament or of the Provincial Legislature, a new set of members is chosen by the people at a General Election. Vacancies occurring between General Elections are filled by by-elections. Persons who stand for election must first be nominated as candidates. The people entitled to elect are the electors or voters, and their names are generally placed on the Voters' List. The places where the votes