The designation of four Deputy Under-Secretaries is part of a realignment of responsibilities within the senior management of the Department. To enable the Department to respond as effectively as possible to the wide range of important issues in international relations, this realignment of tasks among what were previously seven Assistant Under-Secretary positions has made necessary an organization made up of four Deputy and three Assistant Under-Secretaries.

The Deputy Under-Secretaries are primarily responsible, under the general direction of the Under-Secretary, for supervision and management of broad general areas of the Department's activities, while the Assistant Under-Secretaries will specialize in several sectors of political or economic interest and will be actively involved in negotiations.

In addition to Mr. D.S. McPhail, who was appointed Assistant Under-Secretary in 1976, the Assistant Under-Secretaries being appointed now are Mr. G.H. Blouin, previously Ambassador to Spain, and Mr. J.H. Taylor, previously Director General of European Affairs.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs also announced that Mr. Maurice Copithorne, Director General of the Bureau of Legal Affairs, is appointed concurrently, Legal Adviser.

Biographical notes are attached.