Lusaka in October and November, eight East African states decided to establish an East African economic community to encourage greater economic co-operation. ECA continued in 1965 to carry out a number of projects, surveys and studies in the African region and organized courses or seminars on economic development. Canada was represented by an observer at the seventh session of the Commission.

Canada was also represented by an observer at the twenty-first session of the Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East (ECAFE), which was held in Wellington in March. It recommended further measures for reviewing the co-ordination of development plans on a regional basis, urged its members to make effective use of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, and asked Asian governments to provide information on their industrial development plans. An event closely associated with ECAFE was the signing in Manila in December of a charter establishing the Asian Development Bank with an authorized capital of \$1 billion. It is supported by 22 countries, including Canada, which subscribed \$25 million. In 1965 work continued on an ECAFE project to develop the Lower Mekong River Basin with the completion of the first dam in Northeastern Thailand. Canada has contributed \$1.3 million to the project under the Colombo Plan.

Trusteeship Council

The Charter established an international trusteeship system by which colonial territories placed under United Nations supervision are administered through individual trusteeship arrangements. Of 11 territories originally placed under trusteeship, only three remain: New Guinea, which is administered by Australia; Nauru, jointly administered by Australia, Britain and New Zealand; and the large Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, administered by the United States.

Membership in the Council is evenly divided between administering and non-administering members. The former are Australia, Britain, New Zealand and the United States; while the latter are China, France, and the Soviet Union, as permanent members of the Security Council, and Liberia, which was re-elected to the Trusteeship Council at the twentieth session of the General Assembly. The Trusteeship Council held its thirty-second session in New York in May and June 1965.

¹For past and present membership of the Trusteeship Council, see Appendix II-5.