## APPENDIX

REPORT OF THE ELEVENTH MEETING OF THE CANADA-UNITED STATES INTERPARLIAMENTARY GROUP

da-United States Interparliamentary Group (British Columbia). was held from March 20-24, 1968, in Washington and New Orleans.

During the month preceding these meetings, the Canadian delegation held several Jersey). Other delegates from the United briefing sessions. Our Inter-Parliamentary States Congress were: Senators Allen J. Ell-Relations Branch and the Department of ender (Louisiana), Michael J. Mansfield (Mon-External Affairs organized the briefing of our tana), Russell B. Long (Louisiana), William B. delegates and the preparation of background Spong Jr. (Virginia), Quentin Burdick (North papers on the various agenda topics. Officials Dakota), Bourke B. Hickenlooper (Iowa), from the Departments of External Affairs, John Sherman Cooper (Kentucky), Len B. Finance, Trade and Commerce, National Jordan (Idaho), Hirman L. Fong (Hawaii), Defence, External Aid, and Energy, Mines Robert P. Griffen (Michigan); and from the and Resources participated in the briefings. We were also fortunate in having the Minister of Defence and the Minister of Trade and Commerce devote an afternoon to discussing items on the Agenda with members of our delegation.

The Canadian delegation, led by the Honourable Alan A. Macnaughton, P.C., Q.C., arrived in Washington on March 20th at 2.30 P.M., aboard a Canadian Forces Yukon. Mr. Speaker Sydney J. Smith of the Senate, a participant in all previous meetings of the Group, was unable to attend due to illness. Mr. Speaker Lamoureux was also unable to take part as the House of Commons was in session. Their places were taken by two former Speakers, Honourable Alan A. Macnaughton, P.C., Q.C., of the Senate and the Honourable Marcel Lambert, P.C., M.P., of the Commons. The delegation comprised, in addition, the following parliamentarians: from the Senate, Hon. Donald Cameron (Alberta), Hon. L. P. Gélinas (Quebec), Hon. D. A. Lang (Ontario), Hon. H. A. Willis (Ontario), Hon. M. Grattan O'Leary (Ontario), and, from the House of Commons: Mr. James Byrne (British Columbia), Mr. Ovide Laflamme Committee I (Quebec), Mr. A. J. P. Cameron (Ontario), Mr. Herb Gray (Ontario), Mr. G. Roy McWilliam (New Brunswick), Mr. H. A. Olson (Alberta), Senator Aiken and Senator Macnaughton. Mr. Gaston Clermont (Quebec), Mr. J. R. Comtois (Quebec), Hon. Alvin Hamilton, P.C. (Saskatchewan), Mr. Wallace Nesbitt (Ontario), Mr. Robert Coates (Nova Scotia), Mr. Heath Macquarrie (Prince Edward Island), St. Germain, Thomson, Johnson, Duncan and Mr. Heward Grafftey (Quebec), Mr. Roger Kee. Representing Canada were Senators Régimbal (Quebec), Mr. Andrew Brewin (On- Gélinas, Lang and Willis, and from the

The Eleventh Annual Meeting of the Cana- Gauthier (Quebec) and Mr. Howard Johnston

The United States delegation was led jointly by Senator George D. Aiken (Vermont) and Congressman Cornelius E. Gallagher (New House of Representatives: Mrs. Edna F. Kelly (New York), and Congressmen William T. Murphy (Illinois), Harold T. Johnson (California), Fernand J. St. Germain (Rhode Island), John M. Slack (West Virginia), James Kee (West Virginia), Mark Andrews (North Dakota), Robert T. Stafford (Vermont), Vernon W. Thomson (Wisconsin), John J. Duncan (Tennessee), and William S. Broomfield (Michigan).

Representative Thomas E. Morgan (Pennsylvania), Chairman of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, served as an official observer.

## Agenda and Proceedings

The Eleventh Meeting was formally opened in the Old Supreme Court Chamber of the U.S. Capitol with a Welcome to the delegates from Secretary of State Dean Rusk. Following the opening plenary session the delegates divided themselves into two working committees-one on Trade and Economic Matters and the other on Defence and Security Matters. Each Committee met three times.

The Committee on Trade and Economic Matters met under the joint chairmanship of Representing the United States Congress were Senators Mansfield, Jordan, Ellender and Burdick and Representatives Andrews, Kelly, tario), Mr. David Lewis (Ontario), Mr. C.-A. House of Commons, Hon. Alvin Hamilton,