for the purpose of acting as a degree-granting institution for the several universities in the province. However, it ceased to operate a few years later after granting about a dozen degrees. In 1904, after years of negotiation, three church-related institutions in Ontario became federated arts colleges of the University of Toronto.

In 1906, a Royal Commission report resulted in the reorganization of the University of Toronto. This report has been cited as being instrumental in the formation, or subsequent alteration, of legislation governing the original four Western provincial universities. The early sectarian rivalry and multiplication of Eastern universities was likewise used as an argument for the establishment and maintenance of single degree-granting institutions in the West, on the model of the University of London, with the affiliation of denominational and other institutions. The non-sectarian university (for example, the University of Toronto), with its affiliated or federated arts and theological colleges, has been described as a unique Canadian solution to the problem of combining the interests of church and state in higher education.

The University of Manitoba was established in 1877, also on the University of London pattern, as a degree-granting institution for three existing denominational colleges. It granted earned degrees first in 1880 and began to offer instruction in 1900; except for a short period during which the Manitoba Agricultural College was independent, and except for institutions granting degrees only in theology, the University of Manitoba was the sole degree-granting institution in the province until 1967. In that year, two affiliates -Brandon College and United College - were granted university status as Brandon University and the University of Winnipeg.

In 1903, the legislature of the Northwest Territories (then composed of most of Western Canada east of British Columbia) passed an act for the establishment of a university. In 1905, part of the NWT below the 60th Parallel was divided into the present provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, and the 1903 Act was succeeded by acts in 1906 and 1907 authorizing the establishment of the University of Alberta (Edmonton) and the University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon). Both universities established branch campuses, Alberta at Calgary in 1946 and Saskatchewan at Regina in 1961. In 1966, the University of Alberta at Calgary was established as a non-denominational, co-educational and provincial university, under the name University of Calgary.

Acts were passed in 1890 and 1891 authorizing the establishment of a British Columbia university, but they lapsed without result. An act passed in 1908 resulted in the opening of a university in 1915. Before that, instruction at college level in British Columbia had been given mainly by institutions connected with McGill University and the University of Toronto. Until 1963, the University of British Columbia was the only institution of higher learning in the province. In that year, two colleges, Notre Dame and Victoria, became universities; a fourth university, Simon Fraser, enrolled its first students in 1965.

Large universities with numerous faculties and with provision for graduate study in many fields are a comparatively recent phenomenon in Canada. Until the middle of the nineteenth century, higher education in Canada included little more than training in arts and theology. During the latter half of the century, more instruction in science and certain professional fields was gradually introduced.