RULES

RECOMMENDED TO BRANCH SOCIETIES.

I. That a Society be formed in connection with the British and Foreign Bible Society, through the medium of the Upper Canada Bible Society, for the purpose of contributing to the circulation of the Holy Scriptures without note or comment : the English copies being of the authorized version only.

II. That the Society be denominated "THE-BRANCH BIBLE SOCIETY."

III.—That all persons subscribing one dollar annually, or five dollars at one time, shall be members of this Society.

IV. That the business of this Society shall be conducted by a President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary, and a Committee consisting of not less than——other members; five to constitute a quorum.

V. That all Ministers of the Gospel who join the Society shall be reckoned members of the Committee.

VI. That the Committee shall meet quarterly, or oftener; the time and place of meeting to be fixed by themselves.

VII. That the Committee divide their sphere of operations into Districts, and appoint two of their own members for each district, to solicit subscriptions and donations from the inhabitants, and also to ascertain the wants of the people regarding the Word of God.

VIII. That the whole of the subscriptions and donations received by this Society shall, after deducting incidental expenses, be remitted, yearly, to the Upper Canada Bible Society, for the purpose of translating the Word of God into the Indian languages, and for supplying other nations, through the Parent Institution, with the pure Word of God; or for the purchase of Bibles and Testaments to supply the neighbourhood *at cost price*, or gratuitously to those who cannot purchase.

IX. That a General Meeting of the Subscribers be held on the —— day of ——, in each year, at ——, when the accounts shall be presented, the proceedings of the past year stated, a new Committee appointed, and a Report agreed upon; the Report to be published under the direction of the Committee, if required.

X. That on the formation of a new Committee, the President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary, and such three-fourths of the other members of the Committee as have most frequently attended, shall be eligible for reelection for the ensuing year.

B