Union.

Declaration of Union.

2. It shall be lawful for Her Majesty, at any Time not later than , by Letters Patent under the Great Seal of the United Kingdom, to declare the Union of the Colonies of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into One Colony, with such Name as Her Majesty thinks fit.

Proclamation in Canada. 3. The Governor General of British North America shall, within after Receipt by him of the Letters Patent declaring the Union, proclaim the same by Publication thereof in the Government Gazette of Canada, and thereupon the Union shall have full Effect, and the said Three Colonies shall thenceforth form and be One Colony.

[Qu. as to Mode of Proclamation.]

Provinces of United Colony.

Division into Four Provinces.

4. The United Colony shall be composed of Four Provinces, namely,—Upper Canada, Lower Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick, each thereof having the same Limits as it has immediately before the Union.

Governor General.

Governor General of United Colony. 5. There shall be One Governor General for the United Colony, appointed from Time to Time by Her Majesty, Her Heirs and Successors, by Letters Patent under the Great Seal of the United Kingdom.

Executive Council.

6. The Governor General of the United Colony may, by Instrument under the Great Seal of the United Colony, constitute an Executive Council, and from Time to Time appoint and remove Members thereof.

[The Resolutions say nothing of an Executive Council.]

Commandin-Chief of Armed Forces. 7. The Command-in-Chief of all Armed Forces raised in the United Colony, or in any Province, for Service by Land or by Water, shall be vested in Her Majesty, Her Heirs and Successors.