Tuesday, April 18, 1939.

The Standing Committee on Railways and Shipping owned, operated and controlled by the Government met at 11 a.m. Sir Eugène Fiset, the Chairman, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Barber, Bothwell, Cameron, Deachman, Elliott (Kindersley), Emmerson, Ferland, Fiset (Sir Eugène), Hanson, Howden, Howe, Kinley, Lockhart, McKinnon (Kenora-Rainy River), Maybank, Ross (Middlesex East), Stewart, Vien, Walsh, Young—20.

In attendance: Mr. S. J. Hungerford, President; Mr. S. W. Fairweather, Chief of Research and Development; Mr. T. H. Cooper, Comptroller; Mr. W. M. Armstrong, Assistant Director, Bureau of Economics, Canadian National Railways; Col. V. I. Smart, Deputy Minister of Transport.

The Annual Report of the Canadian National Railway System for the year ending December 31, 1938, was read by Mr. W. M. Armstrong, and the Committee commenced consideration thereof.

Supplementary to the said Annual Report, Mr. S. W. Fairweather read a report respecting the new Montreal Terminal, on which he was questioned.

Mr. S. J. Hungerford and Mr. T. H. Cooper replied to a few questions.

Replies were filed by Mr. Fairweather to questions asked by Mr. Walsh at the first meeting of the Committee.

The Committee adjourned at 1 p.m. until 4 p.m. this day.

The Committee resumed at 4 p.m. Sir Eugène Fiset, the Chairman, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Barber, Cameron, Deachman, Elliott (Kindersley), Emmerson, Ferland, Fiset (Sir Eugène), Hanson, Howden, Howe, Kinley, Lockhart, McKinnon (Kenora-Rainy River), Maybank, Stewart, Vien, Walsh, Young—18.

In attendance: Officials who were at this morning's meeting.

The Committee resumed consideration of the 1938 Annual Report of the Canadian National Railway System.

Explanations were given and discussions took place respecting accounting practice relative to sale of steamships, railway maintenance costs, abandonment of branch lines, Vancouver Hotel, Transcona shops, pension funds, pooling of passenger trains, cartage service, Montreal terminal.

At 6 p.m. the Committee adjourned until to-morrow at 4 p.m.

JOHN DUN, Clerk of the Committee.