In the list of contributors to the American Journal of Mathematics, edited by Prof. Sylvester of John Hopkins University, appear the names of Prof. Loudon of University College and J. E. Glashan, inspector of public schools for the city of Ottawa. Any Canadian may well feel honoured by being recognized in this way.

The many friends of Mr. J. B. Somerset in Ontario will learn with pleasure that he is winning golden opinions from all parties in Winnipeg. Most satisfactory proof of the good-will of the school board has been afforded in the shape of a considerable increase of salary, and at a recent meeting of the city teachers a resolution was unanimously carried approving of Mr. Somerset's efforts to put the schools in as thorough a state of efficiency as possible, expressing their high appreciation tof him as a public officer and a gentleman, and congratulating the school authorities on having secured his services.

of Education there appears a letter from Dr. McLellan, high school inspector for Ontario, giving a brief description of the the system of public school supervision in vogue in this pro vince. The letter was written at the request of the secretary of the Board, who describes it as an "interesting and clear statement," and adds :-

"I gladly publish this paper in connection with the annual report of the Board of Education, hoping that at no distant day there will be established an equally complete and officient system of school supervision in this Commonwealth."

Geographical Aotes.

THE SUB-DIVISIONS OF ONTARIO.

The province of Ontario is subdivided by law in different ways for different purposes, and as this state of affairs tends to create a certain amount of confusion we propose to collect in one place from the various Acts of Parliament such information as will be most likely to give teachers a tolerably clear idea of the internal political geography of this province. There is the more need for so doing from the fact that in some of the maps published for use in schools mere electoral divisions are represented as counties while real county municipalities are not clearly indicated.

The division of each province into districts for the election of members of the House of Commons is under the control of the Dominion Parliament. The division into districts for the election of members of a Provincial Assembly is under the control of the Provincial Legislature. As there is of necessity a revision of the electoral districts after each decennial census for Dominion purposes, and as the Legislature of Ontario has not adopted the electoral districts as arranged by the Dominion Parliament, it is not surprising that the existence of two sets of districts within the same area should lead to confusion, especially as there are districts for municipal and judicial purposes which coincide with neither of the others. It is not proposed to give here any account of electoral districts as they are liable to frequent changes; it is of more importance to know how the province is divided into municipal and judicial districts.

The following is a complete list of the county municipalities with their county towns :---

> Brant-Brantford Bruce—Walkerton Carleton—Ottawa Dufferin—Orangevillo

Lennox and Napance Addington Juspan Lincoln—St Catherines Middlesex-London

	Dundas, Stormont and Glengarry Cornwall		Norfolk—Simcoo Ontario—Whitby
	Durham and Northumbertand Cobourg		Oxford-Woodstock
	and ununoutante j		Peel—Brampton
	Elgin-St. Thomas		Perth-Stratford
	Essex-Sandwich		Paterbarough_Paterbarough
	Frontenac-Kingston		Prescott and Russell L'Orignal
ł	Grey-Owen Sound		Russell L Orignal
	Haldimand-Cayuga		Prince Edward—Picton
	Halton-Milton		Renfrew-Pembroke
	Hastings-Belleville		Simcoe-Barrie
	Huron-Goderich	•	Victoria-Lindsay
	Kent-Chatham		Waterloo—Berlin
	Lambton-Sarnia		Welland-Welland
	Lanark—Perth		Wellington-Gnelph
	Leeds and) Grenville) Brockville		Wentworth-Hamilton
	Grenville) DIOCKVILLE		York-Torouto

The following county towns are cities, each city being for judicial purposes part of the county in which it is situated, though for municipal purposes it is separate :-

Toronto	Kingston
Hamilton	Ottawa
London	Brantford
Guelph	St.Catherines
St. Thomas	Belleville.

Soveral towns, besides these cities are separated for municipal pur-In the forty-fifth annual report of the Massachusetts Board poses from the counties in which they are geographically located.

> There is one provisional county, Haliburton, which is set apart for municipal and school, as well as judicial purposes. It embraces 23 townships immediately in rear of, and almost coterminous with the northern limit of the county of Peterborough. The municipal capital is Minden.

> Haliburton differs from the so-called "districts" in having a county organization, though only a provisional one. The highest municipal unit throughout the whole of the districts of Muskoka, Parry Sound, Nipissing, Algoma, and Thunder Bay is the township or village. The township councils in these districts are clothed with special powers and discharge some of the functions that in other parts of the province are performed by county councils.

> The territorial district of Muskoka extends from the Severn on the south to the middle of Lakes Joseph and Rosseau on the north, and from the Georgian Bay on the west to Haliburton on the east. Its capital is Bracebridge.

> The district of Parry Sound has for its eastern limit a continuation of the eastern limit of Muskoka to the east end of Lake Nipissing, and it extends northward to that lake and French River. Parry Sound is its capital.

> The Aistrict of Nipissing extends eastward from Parry Sound till it abuts on the county of Renfrew and the upper Ottawa, and includes all the territory north of Lake Nipissing and French River and east of the meridian of the mouth of that river.

> The Thunder Bay distric* i cludes the townships lying immediately around Thunder Bay and the capital is Prince Arthur's Landing.

The district of Algoma embraces for all except certain specified purposes the smaller district of Thunder Bay, and besides it, all . that part of the province lying west of the meridian of the mouth of French River, including the Manitoulin, St. Joseph, and other islands not attached to counties previously organized. The capital of this district is Sault Ste. Marie, where the judge of the whole district resides.

Besides the judge of the district of Algoma there are Government stipendiary magistrates with extensive civil and criminal jurisdiction at the following points :--

Disputed Territory west of Lake Superior Hadson Bay District Thunder " Parry Sound Muskoka " " Haliburton "

Rat Portage Moose Factory P. A. Landing Parry Sound Bracebridge Minden