An Act to amend the Act respecting the Representation of the People in the Legislative Assembly.

[THEREAS the Cities of Quebec and Montreal are each Preamble. represented by three Members, and the City of Toronto by two Members, in the Legislative Assembly, and it is expedient that the said Cities respectively should be divided into Electoral Divisions each of which may be represented by one Member, as the other Electoral Divisions of the Province now are: Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts 5 as follows:

1. The City of Quebec shall be divided into three Electoral Quebec divi-Divisions, to be called respectively;

electoral divi-

T1860.

- 1. Quebec West, which shall consist of St. Peter's Ward, 10 Champlain Ward, and so much of Montcalm Ward as lies south of the centre of Artillery street, and its prolongation parallel to La Grande Alléo, to the City limits; with so much of the Banliege as lies South of the said line prolonged to the Western Line of the said Banlieue;
- 2. Quebec Centre, which shall consist of Palace Ward, St. Louis Ward, St. John's Ward and so much of Montealm Ward and of the Banlieue as will not be within Quebec West or Quebec East.
- 3. Quebec East, which shall consist of St. Roch's Ward and 20 Jacques Cartier Ward, and that portion of the Banlique to the North of a line prolonged towards the south-west from the southern extremity of Jacques Cartier Ward, along the Cime du Cap to the southwestern limit of the Banlieue.
 - 2. The City of Montreal, shall be divided into three Elec-Montreal ditoral Divisions, to be called respectively:

vided into three electoral divisions.

- 25 1. Montreal West, which shall consist of St. Ann's Ward, St. Antoine Ward, and St. Lawrence Ward;
 - 2. Montreal Centre, which shall consist of the West Ward, the Centre Ward and the East Ward;
- 3. Montreal East, which shall consist of St. Lewis Ward, St. James Ward and St. Marys Ward.
 - 3. The City of Toronto shall be divided into two Electoral Divisions, to be called respectively: