## Government Orders

Mr. Whittaker: Over our objections. We did not hear you call "question". We want debate, and you know it.

An hon. member: Respect the Chair and sit down.

• (1640)

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Order, please. I did ask for debate. Nobody rose. I said: "Is the House ready for the question", and no one said no; people said yes.

Mr. Whittaker: We said no.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Order, please. I started putting the question to the House, then the hon. member for Saanich—Gulf Islands rose. I had already started to put the question. Then the hon. member who rose after could not be recognized because he had already spoken on the bill.

I had started to put the question, therefore there can be no points of order or points of privilege.

Mr. Whittaker: Nonsense.

Mr. McDermid: Read the rules.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I do not like this remark from the hon. member, because it is not nonsense but the rules of this place, which I did not make and which I try to follow.

I am quite prepared, should there be unanimous consent in this place, to revert to debate and recognize the hon. member if there is unanimous consent of this House, but there has to be unanimous consent.

Some hon. members: No.

Mr. Riis: This is a partisan Speaker.

**Mr. Clark (Yellowhead):** Stand up and say that. That is contempt of the House.

**Mr. Riis:** You guys are not going to get away with this. You can't ramrod legislation by having a partisan Speaker in the chair.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I have to continue. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

## (Division No. 204)

## YEAS

Members

Anawak Althouse Andre Assad Attewell Atkinson Bellemare Bélair Benjamin Bernier Bertrand Rird. Bjornson Blackburn (Jonquière) Black Blais Bouchard (Roberval) Blondin Boudria Bourgault Brewin Bover Brightwell Browes Cadieux Callbeck Cardiff Casey Champagne (Champlain) Chadwick Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clark (Yellowhead) Cole Cooper Corbeil Corbett Crawford Couture Crosby (Halifax West) Danis Desjardins DeBlois Domm Dobbie Duplessis Edmonston Feltham Fee Flis Ferguson Fontana Friesen Gagliano Funk Gérin Gauthier Grey (Beaver River) Guilbault Gustafson Harb Harvey (Chicoutimi) Harvard Hawkes Harvey (Edmonton East) Hicks Heap Hopkins Holtmann Hovdebo Horner Hughes Hunter Jacques Iames Jordan Joncas Kempling Keves Koury Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Larrivée Lavton LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Leblanc (Longueuil) Lewis Lee Loiselle Lopez MacLellan MacKay Malone Maheu Manley Mazankowski McDermid McGuire McKnight Merrithew Milliken Mills Monteith Mitchell Nowlan Nicholson O'Kurley Ouellet Pagtakhan Parent