At the moment we are dealing with the question of when this increase is to come into effect. Hon. members seem to have decided by votes on other amendments that they want this massive increase, that they want this 7 per cent compounded annually until we get up into the stratosphere—

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): I hope, Madam Speaker, that Hansard has recorded the applause that members gave in that regard. Members are admitting without any shame, that they want this money. I hope they will yet have the decency to say they are prepared to wait, preferably until July 1 or, if not, that it should be effective January 1 of this year rather than last July 8. If they do not, then on third reading we will have to try again to get the matter put off for another six months.

I deplore the failure of members to debate this issue and to take it seriously. They think they can just sit and the money will fall into their laps. All I can say is that there is an old Spanish proverb I sometimes used years ago when I was in the pulpit. It goes like this: "Take what you want," said God; "take it and pay for it."

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): The question is on motion No. 7. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Pursuant to section 11 of Standing Order 75 the recorded division on the proposed motion stands deferred.

• (2050)

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): The question is on motion No. 8. All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Dinision

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Morin): Pursuant to section (11) of Standing Order 75, the recorded division on the proposed motion stands deferred.

The House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred divisions. Call in the members.

And the members having been called in:

• (2110)

Ellis

Epp

The House divided on motion No. 4 (Mr. Sharp) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 38)

YEAS

Messrs

Leblanc

(Laurier)

Abbott Ethier Alexander Faulkner Alkenbrack Flynn Allard Forrestall Anderson Fortin Andras Foster (Port Arthur) Fox Andre Francis (Calgary Centre) Fraser Andres Gauthier (Lincoln) (Roberval) Appolloni (Mrs.) Gauthier Baker (Grenville-Carleton) (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Baldwin Gilbert Béchard Gillespie Bégin (Miss) Goodale Blackburn Goyer Blais Grafftev Blaker Guay Blouin (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Boulanger Breau Bussières Haidasz Hamilton Campbell (Miss) (Qu'Appelle-Moose (South Western Nova) Mountain) Caouette (Villeneuve) Hamilton (Swift Current-Caron Maple Creek) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Herbert Clermont Holmes Comtois Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Corbin Hurlburt Corriveau Isabelle Côté Jamieson Crouse Jarvis Cullen Johnston Danson Joyal Daudlin Kaplan De Bané Kempling Demers Lachance Dinsdale Lajoie Lalonde (Northumberland-Lambert Miramichi) (Bellechasse) Douglas (Bruce-Grey) Lambert (Edmonton West) Duclos Landers Dupont Lang Langlois Dupras Duquet

Lefebyre Lessard Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Lumley Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacFarlane MacGuigan Mackasey MacKay MacLean Macquarrie Malone Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Marshall Martin Matte Mazankowski McCain McCleave McGrath McIsaac McKenzie McKinley McRae Milne Morin (Mrs.) Muir Nicholson (Miss) Oberle O'Connell **Ouellet** Paproski Parent Pearsall Pinard Portelance Reid Reynolds Ritchie Roberts Robinson Roche Lapointe Rompkey Laprise Roy (Timmins) Lawrence