THE HOUSE OF COMMONS OF CANADA.

BILL 2.

An Act to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons

R.S., c. 5; 1907, c. 41; 1914, c. 51; 1915, c. 19; 1919, c. 6. WHEREAS the results of the census of 1921 necessitate a readjustment of the representation in the House of Commons, pursuant to the provisions of *The British North America Act*, 1867, and the other statutes in that behalf: Therefore His Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:—

Short title.

1. This Act may be cited as The Representation Act, 1924.

Number of Members. 2. The House of Commons shall consist of two hundred 10 and forty-five members, of whom eighty-two shall be elected for the province of Ontario, sixty-five for the province of Quebec, fourteen for the province of Nova Scotia, eleven for the province of New Brunswick, seventeen for the province of Manitoba, fourteen for the province of 15 British Columbia, four for the province of Prince Edward Island, twenty-one for the province of Saskatchewan, sixteen for the province of Alberta, and one for the Yukon Territory.

Division into electoral districts.

3. The said provinces and territory respectively shall, 20 for the purposes of the election of members to serve in the House of Commons, be divided into electoral districts, and be represented as provided in the schedule to this Act.

Construction of schedule.

4. The whole of that part of the said schedule relating 25 to any province shall be read together, and shall, so far as possible, be construed as including the whole of such province in some one or other of the electoral districts therein described, the description of each electoral district being accordingly construed as intended, unless the contrary is 30