educate their young people in the atmosphere of their own faiths. These included such institutions as Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia (Baptist founded in 1838); Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario (Presbyterian when founded in 1841, but now non-denominational); Victoria College (founded in Cobourg, Ontario by Methodists in 1841 and now located in Toronto, under United Church control); St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia (Catholic - founded in 1853); and Mount Allison University in Sackville, New Brunswick (Methodist, now United Church - founded in 1858). After the establishment of the University of Toronto, the Church of England founded its own University of Trinity College in 1851.

The first non-denominational institution to be established was McGill University in Montreal in the Province of Quebec in 1821. It first gave instruction in 1829. Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, founded in protest against the exclusiveness of King's College at Windsor, dates from 1818 but did not begin teaching until 1838.

Following Confederation in 1867, efforts were made to consolidate existing institutions and to establish monopolistic degree-granting provincial universities in Nova Scotia, Ontario, and the four western provinces. The result failed in Nova Scotia, succeeded in part in Ontario, and until quite recently was the accepted pattern in the four western provinces.

A provincial university, the University of Halifax, was established in Nova Scotia in 1878, on the pattern of the University of London, England, for the purpose of acting as a degree-granting institution for the several Nova Scotia universities, but ceased operations a few years later after granting about a dozen degrees. Years of negotiations in Ontario led to the federation of three church-related institutions as federated arts colleges of the University of Toronto by 1904.

A 1906 Royal Commission report, which resulted in the reorganization of the University of Toronto, has often been cited as being instrumental to the formation, or subsequent alteration, of legislation governing the four western provincial universities. The early sectarian rivalry and multiplication of eastern universities was likewise used as an argument for the establishment and maintenance of single degree-granting institutions in the west, with affiliation of denominational and other institutions. The non-sectarian university, as for example the University of Toronto, with its affiliated or federated arts and theological colleges, has been termed a unique Canadian solution to the problem of combining the interests of church and state in higher education.

The University of Manitoba was established in 1877, also on the University of London pattern, as a degree-granting institution for three existing denominational colleges. It granted earned degrees first in 1880, offered instruction first in 1900, and, except for a short period when the Manitoba Agricultural College was independent, and for institutions granting degrees only in theology, it has been the sole degree-granting institution in the province. At present it appears as if Brandon College, now an affiliate of The University of Manitoba, may become an independent university some time in the near future.

In 1903, the legislature of the Northwest Territories (then composed of most of Western Canada east of British Columbia) passed an act for the establishment of a university in that area. In 1905, part of the Territories below the 60th Parallel were divided into the present Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, and the 1903 Act was succeeded by Acts in 1906 and 1907 authorizing the establishment of the University of Alberta (in Edmonton) and the University of Saskatchewan (in Saskatoon) respectively. Both universities recently established branch campuses, Alberta at Calgary and Saskatchewan at Regina, and these branches may become separate universities, although still provincially-controlled, in a few years.

Acts were passed in 1890 and 1891 which authorized the establishment of a University of British Columbia, but they lapsed. An act in 1908 brought about the opening of a university in 1915. Before that, instruction at