Board's regulatory function; recommendations on nuclear safety related research and development supported by the Board; recommendations on "appropriate" or "acceptable" levels of safety for the various activities regulated by the Board, and on methods of defining and demonstrating these levels; and advice on major safety issues arising from the regulatory process.

- (iii) To establish, with the concurrence of the President or a designated officer of the AECB, subcommittees or working groups to carry out committee work.
- (b) In 1982-83, the Committee considered the following topics: basic safety requirements for nuclear power plants;

Order Paper Questions

principles for the management of radioactive waste; the role of human factors in nuclear safety; the perception of risk; review of the AECB proposed program for research; a policy on quality assurance for nuclear activities; and the concept of negligible dose.

- (c) The Committee met five times during 1982-83 for a total of seven days. Also, the working groups met several times. The Committee is required to meet at least two times per year.
- (d) In 1982-83, the Committee did not publish any formal reports other than the revised version of ACNS-2, "A proposed statement on safety objectives for nuclear activities in Canada", which was subsequently endorsed by the AECB.

(c)								
	1980-81		1981-82		1982-83		Total	
Members	Honoraria	Travel	Honoraria	Travel	Honoraria	Travel	Honoraria	Travel
Dr. H.E. Duckworth	\$2,100.00	\$4,119.65	\$3,362.50	\$2,377.86	\$3,150.00	\$3,228.15	\$ 8,612.50	\$ 9,725.66
Dr. R.E. Jervis	1,050.00	859.04	2,087.50	1,362.36	2,003.25	1,632.01	5,140.75	3,853.41
Dr. W.H. Gauvin	1,050.00	634.79	1,675.00	1,613.85	1,575.00	1,002.65	4,300.00	3,251.29
Dr. N.C. Lind	-		800.00	784.70	2,812.50	2,054.83	3,612.50	2,839.53
Dr. O.R. Lundell	1,225.00	1,038.80	2,200.00	1,765.90	1,800.00	1,294.75	5,225.00	4,099.45
Dr. K.J. McCallum	1,400.00	1,816.25	2,200.00	3,126.30	1,800.00	4,099.25	5,400.00	9,041.80
Dr. A. Pearson	1,050.00	1,514.38	3,950.00	3,672.81	3,487.50	1,888.79	8,487.50	7,075.98
Dr. J.T. Rogers	2,100.00	590.01	5,837.50	1,737.29	8,156.25	1,525.49	16,093.75	3,852.79
Mr. W.M. Walker	525.00	2,029.65	1,325.00	3,811.75	1,575.00	5,147.96	3,425.00	10,989.36
Dr. G.C. Butler		_	767 - 55	2,355.58	_	632.30	-	2,987.88
Dr. W. Paskievici	2,100.00	655.90	3,837.50	3,456.67	2,812.50	1,581.42	8,750.00	5,693.99
Mr. C.E. Tupper		1,903.80		1,570.71	_	1,742.82		5,217.33

Note: Members are paid an honorarium of \$225 per day for those days on which they are performing the duties for which they were appointed.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON RADIOLOGICAL PROTECTION

Question No. 4,833—Mr. Mazankowski:

- 1. Is there an Atomic Energy Control Board Advisory Committee on Radiological Protection and, if so (a) who are the members (b) what is the (i) background or expertise (ii) term of appointment of each member (c) what remuneration, such as salary or travel expenses, do the members receive and, for the length of each appointment to date, what amount did each member receive (d) what other funding, if any, is provided by the Government?
- 2. (a) What are the terms of reference of the Committee (b) what matters did it consider in the fiscal year 1982-83 (c) how often did it meet and how often is it required to meet (d) what reports and/or recommendations did the Committee publish in the fiscal year 1982-83?
- Mr. Dave Dingwall (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources): Atomic Energy Control Board reports as follows:
- 1. Yes, the Advisory Committee on Radiological Protection was established by the AECB in 1979 and a Standing Subcommittee on Risk Estimates was formed in 1980.
- (a) Advisory Committee on Radiological Protection

Dr. G.C. Butler

Former Director (Retired) Biological Sciences Laboratories National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. T.W. Anderson	Head, Department of Health Care and Epidemiology University of British Columbia Vancouver, British Columbia
Dr. P. Lachance	Responsable, Programme de santé des travail- leurs Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval Québec, Québec
Dr. B. Lentle	Head, Nuclear Medicine Civic Hospital Ottawa, Ontario
Dr. E.G. Létourneau	Director, Radiation Protection Bureau Health and Welfare Canada Ottawa, Ontario
Dr. A.M. Marko	Director, Division of Health Sciences Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories Atomic Energy of Canada Limited—Research Company Chalk River, Ontario
Dr. E. Mastromatteo	Director, Occupational Health Inco Limited Toronto, Ontario
Dr. J. Muller	Former Head (Retired) Special Studies Services Special Studies and Services Branch

Ontario Ministry of Labour

Toronto, Ontario