May 26, 1981

(ii

9927

date was it set up (b) what are the names and qualifications of the (i) present members (ii) previous members of the council?

Mr. Peter Stollery (Parliamentary Secretary to Secretary of State and Minister of Communications): I am informed by the Public Archives as follows: the Public Records order (P.C. 1966-1749, dated 9 September, 1966) provided for the establishment of the Advisory Council on Public Records (ACPR). The order in council specified that the council was to be under the chairmanship of the Dominion Archivist who would nominate 12 members and present the nominations to the Treasury Board for approval.

(a) The members were appointed on February 8, 1967, under the authority of Treasury Board minute T.B. 664903. The first meeting was held on July 17, 1967.

(b) The Public Records order states that nine members are to be appointed from government departments and agencies, including the Treasury Board at all times. Traditionally, these people have been records managers of major government departments with a great deal of experience in the field of records management. Three members from outside the public service are appointed as representatives of the Canadian Historical Association (CHA), The Canadian Political Science Association (CPSA) and the Records Management Institute (RMI).

(i)	Present Members	
	Dr. W.I. Smith Dominion Archivist Chairman, ACPR	1968-1981
	Mr. F. Boileau Chief, Information Resources Indian and Northern Affairs	1975-1978 1980-1981
	Mr. Y. Cloutier Director, Records Management Systems National Defence	1975-1981
	Mr. R.J. Denault Records Manager Industry, Trade and Commerce	1979-1981
	Chief Supt. W. Drew Director, Records Management Royal Canadian Mounted Police	1975-1981
	Mr. J.G. Dumont Chief, Records Management Ministry of Transport	1972-1981
	Professor D. M.L. Farr Paterson Centre for International Programs Carleton University (CHA Representative)	1967-1981
	Mr. H. Greffe Records Manager Public Works	1977-1981
	Mrs. E.V. Reynolds Senior Analyst Records Management Employment and Immigration Canada	1968-1971 1980-1981
	Mr. E.J. Riley Records Manager Revenue Canada—Taxation	1972-1981
	Professor D.C. Rowat Department of Political Science Carleton University (CPSA representative)	1977-1981

	Order Paper Questions	
	Mr. A. Scharf Records Manager Canada Post (RMI representative)	1979-1981
	Mr. R.M. Westington Task Force on Access to Information and Privacy Administrative Policy Branch Treasury Board Canada	1973-1981
)	Previous Members	
	Dr. W.K. Lamb Dominion Archivist Chairman, ACPR	1967-1968
	Mr. J. Cardillo Chief, Records Management Division Department of National Defence	1967-1972
	Mr. W.A. Cole Paperwork Management Advisor Management Improvement Branch Treasury Board	1967-1969
	Mr. E.R. Forde Office Services Department Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation	1967-1968
	Mr. W.R. Greene Chief of Records Department of Public Works	1967-1968
	Mr. G.E. Logan Chief Records Officer Department of National Health and Welfare	1967-1972
	Mr. F. Mills Coordinator of Registries Post Office Department	1967-1968
	Mr. J.C. O'Reilly Records Manager Department of Transport	1967-1970
	Mr. P.R. Parent Director, Administrative Services Branch Department of Labour	1967-1970
	Superintendent A.C. Potter Officer-in-Charge Central Registry Royal Canadian Mounted Police	1967-1968
	Mr. Louis Sabourin Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences University of Ottawa (CPSA representative)	1967-1968
	Mr. K.G. Stethem Chief, Central Registry National Research Council	1967-1976
	Superintendent R.M. Allan Officer-in-Charge Central Registry Royal Canadian Mounted Police	1968-1972
	Dr. George Buxton (CPSA representative)	1968-1973
	Dr. A.A. Day Head, Historical Division Department of External Affairs	1968-1970
	Mr. R.G. Moir Chief, Records Management Branch National Revenue-Customs and Excise	1968-1971
	Mr. A.J. Banerd Program Branch Treasury Board	1969-1970
	Mr. J.H. Crossan Program Branch Treasury Board	1970-1972