attention to parliament and ask for consideration of the problem which confronts the nation. And immediately the members of parliament flock into this chamber to listen to or participate in debates.

So in some ways we act as a fire department to protect our country and our people in case of emergency. Then on occasions, when there is no crisis, and no great issue is in front of us, we carry on at a lower level and our work is largely routine.

Mr. Speaker, I find I shall have to carry on with my observations tomorrow because there are some other thoughts creeping into my mind which I cannot develop in the course of the next minute or so. I do not intend to deal with the speech from the throne as a whole, because it has been effectively demolished by the Leader of the Opposition (Mr. Diefenbaker), the hon. member for Yukon (Mr. Neilsen) and others.

I wish to deal specifically with the emphasis which the Prime Minister (Mr. Pearson) is placing on the management of the business of the House of Commons. This has become a favourite topic with him. Periodically he talks about what we must do here to organize the business of the house so that things may be done more efficiently and effectively and so that there may be some streamlining of this institution. With this preview of what I shall say tomorrow, I now resume my seat.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: It being 9.45 p.m. it is my duty pursuant to standing order 38, subsection 3, to interrupt these proceedings and forthwith put the question on the subamendment now before the house.

The house divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Douglas) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs: Allard Lew Barnett Mac Brewin (1 Cameron (Nanaimo- Mar Cowichan-The Islands) Mat Douglas Orli Fawcett Pett Gilbert Salt Howe (Hamilton- Scot South) Sco

Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) (Vancouver-Kingsway) Martin (Timmins) Mather Orlikow Peters Saltsman Schreyer Scott (Danforth)—17.

NAYS

Messrs:

Badanai

Baldwin

Ballard

Basford

Batten

Alkenbrack Allmand Andras Asselin (Richmond-Wolfe) [Mr. Churchill.] COMMONS DEBATES

Beaulieu Béchard Bell (Carleton) Bell (Saint John-Albert) Benson Berger Blouin Boulanger Bower Brand Byrne Cadieux (Terrebonne) Caouette Chatterton Chatwood Choquette Churchill Clancy Clermont Comtois Côté (Dorchester) Côté (Longueuil) Côté (Nicolet-Yamaska) Crossman Danforth Davis Deachman Diefenbaker Dionne Drury Dubé Émard Ethier Fane Forbes Forest Gauthier Gendron Godin Grav Groos Guay Habel Haidasz Hamilton Harlev Honey Hopkins Jamieson Johnston Jorgenson Keays Kennedy Kindt Klein Korchiniski Lachance Laflamme Laing LaMarsh (Miss) Lambert Langlois (Chicoutimi) Laniel Laprise Latulippe Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Leboe Lefebvre Legault Lessard

Lind Loiselle Macaluso Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacEwan Mackasev MacLean (Queens) Macquarrie McCutcheon McIlraith McIntosh McLean (Charlotte) McNulty McWilliam Madill Mandziuk Martin (Essex East) Matheson Matte Mongrain Moore More Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Muir (Lisgar) Nasserden Nesbitt Neveu Nielsen Nixon Nowlan O'Keefe Orange Ormiston Pascoe Penin Pickersgill Pilon Prud'homme Racine Rapp Régimbal Reid Richard Rideout (Mrs.) Rochon Rock Roxburgh Ryan Scott (Victoria (Ont.)) Sharp Sherman Simard Simpson Skorevko Smallwood Southam Stafford Stanbury Starr Stefanson Tardif Teillet Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Thomas (Middlesex West) Tolmie Turner Wadds (Mrs.) Wahn