requirements exist with respect to voting in the Northwest Territories or the Yukon Territory. The minimum age for voting has been reduced to 19 by the Provinces of British Columbia and Alberta, and to 18 by the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Quebec.

## Yukon and Northwest Territories

The Yukon was created a separate territory in June 1898. Provision is made for a local government composed of a chief executive officer styled Commissioner, and an elective Legislative Council of seven members with a three-year tenure of office. The Commissioner administers the Government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with a broad variety of matters, including direct taxation for local purposes, territorial offices and officers, municipal institutions, election of members of the Council, licensing of businesses, etc., incorporation of various kinds of companies with territorial objects, solemnization of marriage in the Territory, property and civil rights in the Territory, administration of justice in the Territory, various matters relating to the courts, issuing of licenses or permits to scientists and explorers, levying of fur taxes, preservation of game, education, roads, intoxicants, hospitals, agriculture, expenditure of territorial funds, matters of a merely local or private nature in the Territory, imposition of fines and penalties for violation of ordinances, and, generally, such other matters as are from time to time designated by the Governor in Council.

The seat of local government is Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories comprise:

- (i) all that part of Canada north of the Sixtieth Parallel of
  North Latitude, except portions thereof within the Yukon
  Territory, the Province of Quebec or the Province of
  Newfoundland, and
- (ii) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba,
  Ontario or Quebec.

The Northwest Territories are constituted under an Act of Parliament which provides for a Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner administers the Government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. There is a Legislative Council consisting of elected members and members appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances for the Government of the Territories respecting such matters as direct taxation within the Territories to raise revenue, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, licenses, administration of civil justice, education, public health and generally all matters of a local nature. The administration of the Territories comes under the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The seat of government is at present at Ottawa. There are two District Administrators in