- 2. The Committee shall be constituted as soon as the Convention comes into force in accordance with article XI of this Convention.
- 3. The Committee shall elect its Chairman and one Vice-Chairman. It shall establish its rules of procedure having regard to the following principles:
- (a) the normal duration of the term of office of the representatives shall be six years; with one third retiring every two years;
 - (b) before the expiration of the term of office of any members, the Committee shall decide which States shall cease to be represented on it and which States shall be called upon to designate representatives; the representatives of those States which have not ratified, accepted or acceded shall be the first to retire;
 - (c) the different parts of the world shall be fairly represented;

and expresses the wish

that the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization provide its Secretariat.

IN FAITH WHEREOF the undersigned, having deposited their respective full powers, have signed this Convention.

Done at Geneva, this sixth day of September, 1952 in a single copy.

(Here follow the names of the signatories for Andorra, the Argentine Republic, the Federation of Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, the Republic of El Salvador, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Guatemala, the Republic of Haiti, the Holy See, the Republic of Honduras, India, Ireland, Italy, Liberia, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, the Republic of San Marino, Spain, Sweden, the Confederation of Switzerland, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, the Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia).