IX.—Synopsis of the Geology of Canada. (Being a Summary of the principal terms employed in Canadian Geological Nomenclature.)

By HENRY M. AMI, M.A., D.Sc., F.G.S.

(Read May 29, 1900.)

Introduction.

In describing the various geological formations which compose the earth's crust in the Dominion of Canada it is the purpose of the writer to add such notes on the geological structure of other portions of British North America (which portions we hope will sooner or later form part of our great Dominion) as will show the relation which exists between them and its present divisions.

For the sake of convenience, and to a great extent depending upon its physiographical as well as geological characters, British North America will be divided into five sections or regions, and the descriptions given of the various geological formations will proceed, as nearly as possible, from the east in a westerly direction as follows:—

I.—The Acadian Region, comprising the Maritime provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, also Newfoundland and Gaspé peninsula, together with that portion of the province of Quebec south-east of the great Champlain-Appalachian fault or dislocation which runs in the Gulf and River as well as along the south shore of the St. Lawrence through Quebec city, and west, to St. Nicholas, then to the north-east corner of Lake Champlain, and proceeding in a southerly direction through the New England States, as far south as Alabama.

II.—The Lawrencian Lowlands, which extend from Anticosti west to the City of Quebec and to Lake Huron including the Huron-Erie Peninsula of Ontario, South Eastern Ontario, the Ottawa Palæozoic Basin, and the flat-lying Palæozoic sediments of the province of Quebec.

III.—The Laurentian Highlands, which include the great peninsula of Labrador to the east of Hudson Bay and the Archæan country to the west and north-west of the same bay.

IV.—The Interior Continental Plain, which runs north from the 49th parallel towards the Arctic ocean and embraces Manitoba, Assiniboia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and portions of the districts of Athabasca, MacKenzie, and Franklin.

Sec. IV., 1900. 10.