second reading. Clause five of the bill deals with the authority of the Governor in Council to bring flax, rapeseed and rye under the authority of the Canadian Wheat Board. Since authority is vested in Members of this Chamber and not in the Canadian Wheat Board or other agencies, it seems to me the honourable Member could, if he wished, ask his fellows on the committee, by moving an amendment, to make the decisions called for in his submission. This could be done by moving an amendment to delete or amend clause five of Bill C-238 which is before us now.

For these two reasons, and particularly for the second reason, that the bill could be amended in committee along the lines suggested, the Chair regretfully cannot accept the proposed amendment from the procedural standpoint.

By unanimous consent, the House reverted to "Motions".

By unanimous consent, it was ordered,-That the order for resuming consideration of Bill C-207, An Act respecting the organization of the government of Canada and matters related or incidental thereto, shall be the first order of government business called on Tuesday, May 25, 1971, and on Wednesday, May 26, 1971, and that the consideration of private members' business on Tuesday, May 25, 1971, shall be suspended so that consideration of Bill C-207 may be continued between 5 o'clock p.m. and 6 o'clock p.m. that day, and that not later than 5 o'clock p.m. on Wednesday, May 26, 1971. every question necessary to dispose of the bill in Committee of the Whole shall be forthwith and successively put without further debate or amendment, and that the House shall immediately thereafter proceed to its consideration of all remaining stages of the bill, and that the House shall not adjourn that day at 6 o'clock p.m. and that, not later than 7 o'clock p.m. in the sitting, every question necessary to dispose of all remaining stages of the bill shall be forthwith and successively put without further debate or amendment;

That, in Committee of the Whole on the said bill, a Minister shall propose amendments to provide

- (a) that the Minister of the Environment is also the Minister of Fisheries;
- (b) that clause 17 be deleted; and
- (c) that the establishment of a Ministry of State shall be subject to the adoption of a resolution of the House, which shall be decided upon after not more than a specific period of debate;

And that, in relation to the proposed establishment of Ministries of State for Urban Affairs and Housing and for Science and Technology, no more than one spokesman from each party shall participate in the debate on each of the said proposed resolutions notwithstanding general provisions relating to the approval of such Ministries in Bill C-207.

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.06 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

## Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Code for Mr. McKinley on the Special Committee on Election Expenses.

Mr. Deachman for Mr. Rock on the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

Messrs. Badanai and Cullen for Messrs. Whelan and Serré on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Messrs. Harries, Corriveau, Portelance, Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont), Guay (St. Boniface) and Major for Messrs. Rock, Smith (Saint-Jean), Rochon, Duquet, Breau and Forget on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Messrs. Forget, Leblanc (Laurier), Major and Dupras for Messrs. Portelance, McNulty, Harries and Corriveau on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. Ritchie for Mr. Moore on the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

Mr. Rose for Mr. Skoberg on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Messrs. McCleave, Peters and Rock for Messrs. Thomas (Moncton), Benjamin and Harries on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Messrs. Ritchie and Morison for Messrs. Thomas (Moncton) and Turner (London East) on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Messrs. O'Connell and Borrie for Messrs. Badanai and Corbin on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

 $\mbox{Mr.}$  Duquet for  $\mbox{Mr.}$  Dupras on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Messrs. Alkenbrack and Korchinski for Messrs. Skoreyko and Ritchie on the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

Messrs. Whelan and Corbin for Messrs. Lessard (La-Salle) and Murphy on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Mr. Rochon for Mr. Guay (St. Boniface) on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.