activities of the Joint Research Centre (JRC), the Central Ofice for Nuclear Measurements, and the European and International nuclear fusion initiatives (JET and ITER, respectively)

The Parliament receives S&T advice from the <u>Scientific and Technological Options (STOA) Unit (http://www.europarl.eu.int/stoa/default_en.htm)</u> which is located within the European Commission's DG Research. Members of the Unit have been drawn from all the EU Member States and other countries like the United States. An annual STOA work plan is developed by the STOA Panel composed of Members of the European Parliament, who represent the 17 permanent Committees of the Parliament. The 2001 Work Plan includes studies on such topics as:

- Clean coal technology Its development, potential and future role in EU energy supplies
- Production capacity of renewable energies in the EU
- Comparative study on the industrial and trade aspects of the cultural sector in the EU and the US
- Depleted uranium: Environmental and health effects in the Gulf War and in the Bosnia and Kosovo conflicts

The consequences of enlargement on EU agriculture

Dioxin and Fisheries in the North Sea, the Baltic and the Mediterranean Sea

- Technological requirements for solutions in the conservation and protection of historic monuments and archaeological remains
- The use of COMINT for economic intelligence including a closer analysis of the functioning of the "Advocacy Centre" in the USA and an updated analysis of political/technical developments in interception activity
- Compilation of a complete inventory of new and potential developments in human genetics and of their uses

The Council of the EU:

The Council of the EU is composed of the elected Ministers of the Member State governments. Hence, the Research Ministers from each of the Member States collect to form the Research Council. This is mirrored for other portfolios: Thus the fifteen Transport Ministers come together to form the Transport Council, the fifteen Agriculture Ministers to form the Agriculture Council, and so on. The Foreign Ministers come together to form the Council of the EU in its most senior incarnation.

The Council of the EU, in its various incarnations, is supported by a General Secretariat. Member State government offices in Brussels also support the Council (see section on EU Member States). The Member States take turns holding the Presidency of the Council of the EU. The Presidency rotates every six months.

Spanish Presidency (January-June 2002) http://www.cordis.lu/spain/home.html Danish Presidency (July-December 2002)

2003 Greece Italy 2004 Ireland