1.0 INTRODUCTION

Synopsis

This chapter explains the genesis of the Task Force and how it carried out its review of Canada's past and prospective future involvement in the power sector and six other sectors of importance which together account for more than 95 per cent of Canadian exports to China.

1.1 MANDATE

The industry-government Task Force on the China Power Sector was created in February, 1986 by the Minister for External Relations, the Honourable Monique Vézina, and the Minister for International Trade, the Honourable James Kelleher. Four members were appointed to serve on the Task Force, two from the private sector and two from the public sector, as follows:

Chairman: Mr. Frank Petrie

President, Canadian Export Association

Members: Mr. Peter J. Haines

Vice-President, Professional Services Branch Canadian International Development Agency

Mr. R. A. Kilpatrick
Assistant Deputy Minister
International Trade Development Branch
External Affairs Canada

Mr. Robert L. Walker R.L. Walker & Partners Consulting Engineers

The Ministers asked the Task Force to review Canada's involvement in the power sector in China and to prepare a report focussing on three primary issues:

a) an inventory of federal financing available for trade development in China and the place of the power sector in an overall federal strategy; and,

b) the likely extent of private sector demands for federal assistance in power projects in China during the next five to fifteen years.

c) the selection of firms for federal support.

The Task Force was asked to examine the competitiveness of Canadian firms in the power sector and to identify criteria which the federal government could use to choose projects to be supported. The Task Force was also requested to comment on how federal assistance for hydroelectric projects should be related to assistance for other projects in the power sector and to Canadian opportunities in other sectors in China.

The terms of reference of the Task Force are set forth in the letter dated February 7, 1986 from the Ministers for External Relations and