secretary was E. C. Drury, now the Premier of Ontario. R. C. Henders, of Culross, Manitoba, succeeded Mr. McCuaig as president of the Canadian Council of Agriculture, and he was followed by James Bower, of Red Deer, Alberta, after whom came J. A. Maharg, of Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. In 1917, Mr. Maharg's place was taken by H. W. Wood, of Carstairs, Alberta, who in 1920 was succeeded by R. W. E. Burnaby, President of the United Farmers of Ontario, Thus the presidents of the associations of the three Western Provinces have had their turn in presiding over the affairs of this organization. The position of secretary, following the retirement of Mr. Drury, was held by E. J. Fream, of Calgary, until 1914, when Roderick McKenzie took the office, which he held up till July, 1918. N. P. Lambert then succeeded Mr. McKenzie to the secretaryship.

## Re-organization in 1916.

At the session of the Canadian Council of Agriculture in December, 1916, a certain amount of re-organization was effected in order that representatives of the different commercial companies which had arisen out of the farmers' movement should be admitted to its membership in addition to the representatives of the provincial associations. As a result of this enlargement in 1916, the Council was made up as follows: The executive officers of the United Farmers of Alberta, the Alberta Co-operative Elevator Company, the Saskatchewan Grain Growers' Association, the Saskatchewan Co-operative Elevator Company, the Manitoba Grain Growers' Association, the Grain Growers' Grain Company, the Grain Growers' Guide, the United Farmers of Ontario and the United Farmers Co-operative Company of Ontario, representing in all over 90,000 farmers who were affiliated with the different organizations at that time. It