Government Orders

PAIRED-MEMBERS

nil/aucun

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): I declare the motion lost.

[English]

Mr. Dingwall: Mr. Speaker, I think you might find that there is a disposition among members in the House that the vote which has just been taken would apply also to Motions Nos. 53, 30, 42A, 58, 60 and 78.

Mr. Angus: Mr. Speaker, for further clarification, the NDP caucus will be voting against Motion No. 57 and in favour of all the remaining motions.

We will vote against Motion No. 57, but in favour of the remaining motions.

Mr. Hawkes: Mr. Speaker, I think the proposition that came from the House leader of the Liberal Party is acceptable to the government. That would leave us voting next for Motion No. 57, but the remaining motions on Bill C-4 would have been settled on the basis of the proposition.

Mr. Attewell: Mr. Speaker, I would just like to say that I will be voting in favour of Motion No. 42A.

Mr. Dingwall: Mr. Speaker, I think to facilitate the Order of the House, since my colleagues of the NDP have indicated that they will be voting against Motion No. 57, we can perhaps expedite the proceedings by informing the House that our party will be voting in favour of Motion No. 57.

[Translation]

Mr. Kindy: Mr. Speaker, I will vote for Motion No. 42A.

[English]

Mr. Hawkes: Mr. Speaker, the government moved Motion No. 57 and will be voting for it. I think Motion No. 57 can be dealt with by putting the vote for Motion No. 5 but in reverse.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Hon. members have heard the terms of the motion made by the hon. opposition House leader and seconded by the other House leaders. Is there unanimous consent to agree to that motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

[Translation]

The House divided on motion No. 53, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 65)

YEAS

Members

Althouse Angus Blackburn (Brant) Benjamin Breaugh Blaikie Butland Brewin Fisher de Jong Fulton Gardiner Hovdebo Harvey (Edmonton East) Kristiansen Karpoff Langdon (Essex-Windsor) Laporte MacWilliam McCurdy Murphy Nystrom Riis Parker Rodriguez Robinson Taylor Stupich Whittaker-29

NAYS

Members

Gaffney

Gauthier Gray/ (Windsor West)

Anawak Allmand Arseneault Anderson Attewell Atkinson Bélair Baker Berger Belsher Bernier Bertrand Bjornson Bird Blackburn (Jonquière) Blondin Blenkarn Bouchard (Roberval) Boudria Bourgault Boyer Caccia Cadieux Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Callbeck Catterall Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Chadwick Chartrand Charest Clark (Yellowhead) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Cole Comuzzi Collins Corbett Cook Couture Côté Darling Crawford Della Noce de Cotret Dick Desiardins Dobbie Dingwall Dorin Domm Duplessis Duhamel Edwards Feltham Ferland Finestone Fontaine Flis Fontana

Friesen Gagliano