Della Noce Dick Dorin Edwards Fee Fontaine Friesen Gray (Bonaventure - Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Guilbault Halliday Hawkes Hockin Holtmann Hughes James Johnson Kempling Langlois Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild Lopez MacDougall (Timiskaming) Malone Martin (Lincoln) Mazankowski McKnight Merrithev Monteith Oberle Plourde Redway Reimer Rov-Arcelin Schneider Shields Soetens Stevenson Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Van de Walle Vézina Vincent Wilbee Assiniboia) Worthy-132

Desiardins Dobbie Duplessis Epp Ferland Fretz Gibeau Greene Gustafson Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Hogue Horner Jacques Jelinek Ioncas Koury Larrivée Lewis Loiselle MacDonald (Rosedale) MacKay Marin Masse McDougall (St. Paul's) McLean Mitges Nicholson O'Kurley Porter Reid Richardson Saint-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sobeski Sparrow Tardif Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Valcourt Venne Vien White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Winegard

## [English]

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

**Mr. Hawkes:** Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. We have been waiting patiently for the \$1 million mark. At the rate we are taking these votes, if we do not apply some of those completed to future ones, we will be here another four hours at a cost of \$1 million to Canadian taxpayers.

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Hawkes: I am wondering if we might have unanimous consent to save \$1 million.

Some Hon. Members: Withdraw the bill!

**Mr. Riis:** Mr. Speaker, the government Whip raises a good point, but if he is really concerned about the taxpayers of Canada, the best thing that he could be advised to do is for his government to resign.

#### Government Orders

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Tobin: Mr. Speaker, we want to remind the government Whip that while he has been worried about the cost of democracy, and there is never too high a cost to pay for democracy to allow the people of Canada to be heard, in the six votes that have been taken, this government already has approval for some \$8 billion worth of GST and we are not going to say yes to rest of it without a fight.

#### Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

## [Translation]

Mr. Speaker: The next motion is on Motion No. 17.

The House divided on the motion which was negatived on the following division:

# (Division No. 224)

## YEAS

Members Allmand Althouse Anawak Angus Arseneault Assad Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Bellemare Benjamin Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Blondin Boudria Brewin Butland Caccia Callbeck Campbell (South West Nova) Catterall Clancy Comuzzi Dingwall Dionne Edmonston Duhamel Fisher Ferguson Flis Foster Fulton Funk Gaffney Gagliano Gauthier Gardine Grey (Beaver River) Harb Guarnieri Harvard Harvey (Edmonton East) Hopkins Hovdebo Jordan Karpoff Keyes Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Langdon (Essex-Windsor) Lapierre LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Laporte MacAulay MacDonald (Dartmouth) MacWilliam Maheu Manley Marleau McCurdy McLaughlin Mifflin Mills Milliken Nault Murphy Nystrom Pagtakhan Parent Parker Peterson Phinney Pickard Proud Rideout Riis Robichaud Robinson Rocheleau Rodriguez Samson Skelly (North Island - Powell River) Skelly (Comox - Alberni) Speller Stewart Stupich Tobin Taylor Vanclief Wappel Whittaker Wood Young (Gloucester)-93

10393