SECTION 2

THE CANADIAN DELEGATION

Composition

It was considered essential that Canadian representation at the San Francisco Conference should be assured of the widest possible measure of support from the Parliament and people of Canada. It was important that the Canadian representatives should speak with a clear, strong and united voice. For these reasons it was desirable that Canada's delegation to the San Francisco Conference should be broadly representative. The Government therefore decided to select representatives from both Houses of Parliament, and from both sides of each House. The Government itself, of course, assumed its constitutional responsibility both for the selection of the delegation and for the decisions agreed to at San Francisco.

The following delegates were appointed:

The Rt. Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King, Prime Minister of Canada, President of the Privy Council and Secretary of State for External Affairs, Chairman of the Delegation:

The Hon. L. S. St. Laurent, K.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Deputy Chairman of the Delegation; Senator the Hon. J. H. King, M.D., Leader of the Government in the

Senate;

The Hon. Lucien Moraud, K.C., Member of the Senate;

Mr. Gordon Graydon, M.P., Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons;

Mr. M. J. Coldwell, M.P., President and Parliamentary Leader, Cooperative Commonwealth Federation; and

Mrs. Cora T. Casselman, M.P.

The senior advisers and alternate delegates were:

Mr. N. A. Robertson, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs:

Mr. H. H. Wrong, Associate Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Mr. L. B. Pearson, O.B.E., Canadian Ambassador to the United States of

Mr. Jean Désy, K.C., Canadian Ambassador to Brazil;

Mr. L. D. Wilgress, Canadian Ambassador to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics;

Mr. W. F. Chipman, K.C., Canadian Ambassador to Chile; and

Major-General M. A. Pope, C.B., M.C., Military Staff Officer to the Prime Minister, Military Secretary to the Cabinet War Committee and Member of the Chiefs of Staff Committee.

Six special advisers were appointed:

Mr. P. E. Renaud, Department of External Affairs;

Mr. L. Rasminsky, Assistant to the Governor of the Bank of Canada; Mr. Escott Reid, Canadian Embassy, Washington; Mr. C. S. A. Ritchie, Department of External Affairs;

Miss Elizabeth MacCallum, Department of External Affairs;

Mr. R. Chaput, Department of External Affairs.

The press and information officers of the delegation were:

Mr. A. D. Dunton, General Manager of the Wartime Information Board;

Mr. Hugh Campbell, Wartime Information Board, Canadian Embassy, Washington; and

Mr. N. J. Anderson, Wartime Information Board.