the Quebec Act allowed, and they wanted the rights of self-government. So they sent petitions to England to have these laws of Canada changed, but the French-Canadians petitioned to have them retained.

To please both parties, the British Parliament passed the Constitutional Act in 1791. It divided Canada into two provinces, and gave each a government consisting of (1) a Governor, (2) an Executive Council, (3) a Legislative Council, and (4) a Legislative Assembly. The members of the Assembly were elected by the people, and were to hold office for four years, but the others were appointed by the Crown. This was representative government, but the control of the revenue was placed in the hands of the Governor and the Executive Council, instead of being under the control of the representatives of the people, as British law would demand.

This Act also arranged for the famous Clergy Reserves, which, in after years, caused so much trouble.

THE WAR OF 1812-14.

Then began the struggle for responsible government, such as was enjoyed in Britain. But the struggle was soon hushed when all the sons of Canada united to repel the attacks of the Americans, who, in 1812, declared war against Great Britain, and invaded Canada to secure a prize they had long wished for, and which they thought they could now gain with ease.

The foe was many times as numerous as the Canadian forces, but victories like Queenston Heights, Stoney Creek and Chrysler's Farm