Van De Walle

Vankoughnet

Vézina Waddell Warner Weiner

White

Wilson

(Etobicoke Centre)-115

Official Languages Act

Vankoughnet	White
Vézina	Wilson
Warner	(Etobicoke
Weiner	Centre)—114

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost. The next question is on the main motion. Is it the pleasure to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Crosbie), which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 421)

YEAS

Members

Andre
Beatty
Bernier
Blais
Blais-Grenier
Blouin
Bosley
Bouchard
(Roberval)
Boyer
Brightwell
Brisco
Browes
Cadieux
Caldwell
Cardiff
Champagne
(Saint-Hyacinthe-
Bagot)
Champagne
(Champlain)
Charest
Clark
(Brandon-Souris)
Clifford
Cochrane
Collins
Comeau
Cook
Cooper
Corbett

Cossitt

Crosbie	Howie
(St. John's West)	Hudon
Darling	Jacques
Daubney	James
de Cotret	Johnson
Dick	(Bonavista-Trinit
Domm	Conception)
Dorin	Joncas
Duplessis	Jourdenais
Edwards	Kelleher
Epp	Kempling
(Provencher)	Kindy
Fennell	King
Ferland	Landry
Fontaine	Layton
Fretz	Leblanc
Friesen	Lesick
Gagnon	Lewis
Gérin	Lopez
Girard	MacDonald
Graham	(Kingston and
Gray	the Islands)
(Bonaventure—Îles-de-	MacDougall
la-Madeleine)	(Timiskaming)
Grisé	Mailly
Guilbault	Marin
(Drummond)	Martin
Gurbin	Masse
Hamelin	Mayer
Hawkes	McCain
Hicks	McDermid
Hnatyshyn	McDougall
Holtmann	(St. Paul's)

	Official Banguages 11
McKenzie	Scott
McKinnon	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
McLean	Scowen
Mitges	Shields
Moore	Sparrow
Mulroney	Speyer
Nowlan	Stevens
Oberle	Stewart
Oostrom	Tardif
Pennock	(Charlesbourg)
Pietz	Taylor
Porter	Tremblay
Reid	(Québec-Est)
St. Germain	Tupper

NAYS

Members

Ithouse	Garneau
ngus	Gauthier
xworthy	Gray
enjamin	(Windsor West)
lackburn	Guilbault
(Brant)	(Saint-Jacques)
laikie	Harris
roadbent	Heap
accia	Henderson
assidy	Hovdebo
copps	Isabelle
e Jong	Jewett
ewar	Kaplan
pp	Keeper
(Thunder Bay-	Langdon
Nipigon)	MacLellan
oster	Malépart
rith	Manly
ulton	McCurdy
agliano	McLaughlin

Mitchell Murphy Orlikow Parry Penner Pépin Prud'homme Robichaud Rodriguez Rossi Skelly Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Tobin Young-51

• (1820)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Bill read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.

[Translation]

OFFICIAL LANGUAGES ACT

MEASURE TO ESTABLISH

The House resumed consideration of Bill C-72, an Act respecting the status and use of the official languages of Canada, as reported (with amendments) from a legislative committee.

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to order made Monday, July 4, 1988, it is my duty to put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the report stage of this Bill.

Mr. Gauthier, seconded by Mr. Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) moved that Bill C-72, an Act respecting the status and use of the official languages of Canada, be amended in Clause 2 by striking out line 40 at page 2 and substituting the following therefor: