HOUSE OF COMMONS

Friday, February 29, 1952

The house met at three o'clock.

THE MINISTRY

POSTMASTER GENERAL—PARLIAMENTARY
ASSISTANT TO MINISTER OF DEFENCE
PRODUCTION

Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, before you take up the orders of the day there are three or four matters which according to the rules and practice are required to be dealt with at this time.

First of all, I should like to announce officially for the record that the Hon. G. Edouard Rinfret resigned as Postmaster General on February 13, 1952, and that Mr. Alcide Cote, member for St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville, was appointed Postmaster General on the same day. I should like to table the order in council making the appointment.

I should like to announce for the record that Mr. G. J. McIlraith resigned as parliamentary assistant to the Minister of Defence Production on February 5, 1952, and that Mr. John Horace Dickey, senior member for Halifax, was appointed parliamentary assistant to the Minister of Defence Production on February 12, 1952. I now table the appropriate orders in council.

STANDING COMMITTEES

Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent (Prime Minister) moved:

That a special committee be appointed to prepare and report, with all convenient speed, lists of members to compose the standing committees of this house under standing order 63, said committee to be composed of Messrs, Fournier (Hull), Harris (Grey-Bruce), Casselman, Shaw and Weir.

Motion agreed to.

INTERNAL ECONOMY COMMISSION

Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent (Prime Minister) presented the following message from His Excellency the Governor General:

The governor general transmits to the House of Commons a certified copy of an approved minute of council appointing the Hon. Alphonse Fournier, Minister of Public Works, the Hon. Douglas Abbott, Minister of Finance, the Hon. J. J. McCann, Minister of National Revenue and the Hon. F. G. Bradley, Secretary of State of Canada, to act with the Speaker of the House of Commons as commissioners for the purposes and under the provisions

of chapter 145 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1927, intituled: An act respecting the House of Commons

HOUSE OF COMMONS

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, I should like to move, seconded by the Minister of Defence Production (Mr. Howe):

That Louis Rene Beaudoin, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Vaudreuil-Soulanges, Quebec, be appointed deputy chairman of committees of the whole house.

Motion agreed to.

TRIBUTES TO DECEASED MEMBERS

THE LATE HEBER HAROLD HATFIELD—THE LATE HENRI A. GOSSELIN

Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, since the last session of parliament two of the members of this house have passed away. I refer of course to the former members for Victoria-Carleton and Brome-Missisquoi.

It was with deep regret, shared by all of us, that we learned of the death of Mr. Heber H. Hatfield following a lengthy period of ill health. Born in 1885 at Middle Simonds, New Brunswick, and educated there, it was not long before Mr. Hatfield moved to Hartland where he was to become prominent as a large scale producer of and dealer in potatoes and potato products. Following several years of service in the municipal field, Mr. Hatfield was elected to parliament for the electoral district of Victoria-Carleton in the general election of 1940, and re-elected in 1945 and 1949.

Though giving close attention always to all the work of parliament, he was constant and firm in his efforts to interest Canada and, indeed, other parts of the world in the products of his native province. As a result he did much to increase the prosperity of many New Brunswickers and to enhance the name of Canada as a source of choice seed potatoes. Mr. Hatfield will be missed by his constituents, by his business associates, by the potato growers of all the maritime region, and by those, not only of his own party, with whom he was so closely associated as a member of parliament. He will be remembered