## RULING BY MR. DEPUTY SPEAKER

MR. DEPUTY SPEAKER: I thank the honourable Member for Mississauga (Mr. Blenkarn) and the Minister of Finance (Mr. Turner) for discussing this. It is indeed helpful to the Chair.

The point that must now be considered by the Chair is whether the point of order originally raised by the Chair is correct. The point of order is whether the Bill should be amended in Clause 13 by deleting line six on page nine and substituting "the 1972 fiscal year".

I think it is clear and accepted by all honourable Members that there is a right to take particular provisions in a bill as they relate to proposed expenditures and seek to reduce them. I do not think there can be any question but that honourable Members have a right to do that. However, I do not think that is the question that has to be determined by myself at this particular time.

The Bill as it was approved on second reading provided for the provision of money to meet certain expenditures for a period from the first day of January 1973 to the thirtieth day of June 1974 and to guarantee certain securities to provide for these moneys. The amendment proposed by the honourable Member for Central Nova (Mr. MacKay) and argued on his behalf by the honourable Member for Mississauga would, in the opinion of the Chair, negative the principle of the Bill as determined by this House on second reading. I would quote to the honourable Member for Mississauga paragraph (5) of May's 18th edition, page 509, wherein it is stated: "An amendment which is equivalent to a negative of the bill, or which would reverse the principle of the bill as agreed to on the second reading, is not admissible."

In my opinion, the substitution of one particular year for another particular period of time is fatal to the admissibility of the amendment and I therefore have to declare it is out of order.

On motion of Mr. Turner (Ottawa-Carleton), seconded by Mr. Sharp, the said Bill was concurred in at the report stage, on division.

Mr. Turner (Ottawa-Carleton), seconded by Mr. Sharp, moved,—That the said Bill be now read a third time and do pass.

And debate arising thereon;

## (Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.00 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

## Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Breau for Mr. Demers on the Standing Committee on Miscellaneous Estimates.

Messrs. Blenkarn, Whicher, Hollands and McCain for Messrs. Ellis, Mackasey, Hurlburt and Mazankowski on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. Oberle for Mr. Dinsdale on the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Mr. Symes, Mrs. Morin and Mr. Roy (Timmins) for Messrs. Rose, Blaker and Guilbault on the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

Messrs. Leblanc (Laurier), McCain and Buchanan for Messrs. Jerome, Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) and Lachance on the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections.

Mr. Cyr for Mr. Langlois on the Standing Committee on External Affairs and National Defence.

Mr. Mackasey for Mr. Whicher on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. Blaker for Mrs. Morin on the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

Messrs. Jerome, Lachance and Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) for Messrs. Leblanc (Laurier), Buchanan and McCain on the Standing Committee on Privleges and Elections.

Messrs. Mazankowski and Ellis for Messrs. McCain and Hollands on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. Yewchuk for Mr. Hurlburt on the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs.

Mr. Schellenberger for Mr. Hurlburt on the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

Messrs. Roy (Timmins), Gendron, Mrs. Morin and Messrs. Allard and Schumacher for Messrs. Trudel, Cullen, Breau, Tétrault and Bawden on the Standing Committee on National Resources and Public Works.