Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the House resumed the adjourned Debate on the motion of the Honorable Mr. Sanborn, in amendment to the motion of the Honorable Sir E. P. Taché, to Resolve—That an humble Address be presented to Her Majesty, praying that She may be graciously pleased to cause a measure to be submitted to the Imperial Parliament for the purpose of uniting the Colonies of Canada, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, and Prince Edward Island, in one Government, with provisions based on the Resolutions which were adopted at a Conference of Delegates from the said Colonies, held at the City of Quebec, on the 10th of October, 1864, viz:—

That the following words be added to the Resolution now under consideration, as an

amendment, by substituting for the eighth Resolution the following:

"Upper Canada to be represented in the Legislative Council by 24 elective Members, and Lower Canada by 24 elective Members, and the Maritime Provinces by 24 Members, corresponding with the 24 elective Members in each section of Canada, of which Nova Scotia shall have ten, New Brunswick ten, and Prince Edward Island shall have four, and the present Members of the Legislative Council of Canada, as well life Members as elective Members, shall be Members of the first Legislative Council of the Federal Parliament, the appointed Members to remain for life, and the elective Members for eight years from the date of their election, unless removed by death or other cause; their successors to be elected by the same Divisions and Electors as have elected them; and it shall be permitted to the Maritime Provinces to appoint ten additional Members for life: four for New Brunswick, four for Nova Scotia, and two for Prince Edward Island, to correspond with the present life Members from Canada, and that after the first appointment of Members in the Maritime Provinces no new appointment shall be made except to supply the places of vacancies by death or otherwise in the twenty-four Members appointed to correspond with the elective Members from the two sections of Canada."

And that in the eleventh Section, after the word "Council," in the first live, the

following words be added: "in the Maritime Provinces."

And that Section fourteen be struck out.

At six o'clock, P. M., the Honorable the Speaker left the Chair, and resumed the same at half-past seven.

After continued Debate,

The question of concurrence being put on the Honorable Mr. Sanborn's amendment, the House divided; and the names being called for, they were taken down as follow:

CONTENTS.

The Honorable Messieurs

Ailcins,	Cormier,	Letellier de St. Just,	Proulx,
Archambault,	Currie,	Malhiot,	Reesor,
Armstrong,	Flint,	Olivier,	Sanborn,
Bureau,	Leonard,	Perry,	Simpson.—18.
Chaffers,	Leslie,		_

Non-Contents.

The Honorable Messieurs

Alexander,	Christie,	Guévremont,	Panet,
Allan,	Craw ford,	Hamilton (Inkerman)	Price,
Armand,	De Beaujeu,	Hamilton (Kingston),	
Belleau, Sir N. F.,	Dickson,	Lacoste,	Read,
Bennett,	Duchesnay, A. J.,	Mc Crea,	Ross,
Blair Fergusson,	Duchesnay, E. H. J.,	McDonald,	Ryan,
Boulton,	Dumouchel,	McMaster,	Shaw,
Bossé,	Ferrier,	Macpherson,	Skead,
Bull,	Foster,	Matheson,	Taché, Sir E. P.,
Burnham,	Gingras,	Mills,	Vidal.—41.
Campbell',	,	,	