end as it may be lawful for the Court of King's Bench, or Judges thereof, to proceed, and as to right and justice shall appertain.

Circuit Courts heretofore established by the Act of the 31th Geo. 11f. abolished.

XLVI. And whereas experience hath shewn that the Circuit Courts established by the nineteenth section of the said Act of the thirtyfourth year of the reign of His late Majesty; for causes under ten pounds sterling, are absolutely insufficient in the Districts of Quebec and Montreal, and that it is necessary to establish others; be it therefore further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that from and after the passing of this Act, the said Circuit Courts established in the said Districts of Quebec and Montreal by the said Act, shall be, and the same are hereby abolished, and that the said Districts shall be divided into Circles, (arrondissemens) and that Circuit Courts shall therein respectively be held at the places and terms herein-after mentioned.

Division of the District of Quebec into Circles.

Circles of Quebcc de-

nned.

Bay St. Paul.

Kamouraska.

St. Thomas.

Dorchester.

XLVII. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that the District of Quebec shall be, and the same is hereby divided, for the purpose of holding the said Circuit Courts, as follows: that is to say, the Circle (arrondissement) of Quebec, shall comprehend the county of Quebec, and such part of the county of Northumberland as lies to the west of Cape Tourmente, the Island and county of Orleans, the Parish of Pointe Levi and St. Nicholas, the entire Parish of Ancienne Lorette and the Parish of St. Augustin; and that the Court for the said Circle (arrondissement) shall be held in the place heretofore fixed for holding the Court of King's Bench for the District of Quebec.

The Circle (arrondissement) of the Bay St. Paul, shall comprehend so much of the county of Northumberland, as lies to the eastward of Cape Tourmente, and the Circuit Court for the same shall be held in the parish of the Bay of St. Paul.

The Circle (arrondissement) of Kamouraska shall comprehend the whole county of Cornwallis, and the Circuit Court for the same shall be held at the parish of Kamouraska.

The Circle (arrondissement) of St. Thomas, shall comprehend the counties of Devon and Hertford, and the Circuit Court for the same shall be held at the Parish of St. Thomas.

The Circle (arrondissement) of Dorchester shall comprehend the county of Dorchester, with the exception of the Parish of Pointe Levi and St. Nicholas, and the Circuit Court for the same shall be held at the Parish of St. Henry.