Constitution Amendment, 1987

NAYS

Members

Althouse Epp Manly Andre (Thunder Bay-Mantha Angus Nipigon) Epp (Provencher) Attewell Martin Beatty Masse Belsher Fennell Mayer Benjamin Ferland Mazankowski Rernier Fontaine McCuish Bertrand Forrestall McCurdy Binns Fraleigh McDonald Bissonnette Fretz (Broadview Blackburn Friesen Greenwood) (Jonquière) Fulton McDougall Blaikie Gagnon (St. Paul's) Blais McInnes Blais-Grenier Gérin McKenzie Blenkarn Girard McKinnon Blouin Gormley McKnight Bosley Gottselig McLaughlin Bouchard Graham McLean Bourgault McMillan Boyer (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Merrithey Brightwell la-Madeleine) Minaker Greenaway Mitchell Broadbent Grisé Moore Browes Guilbault Mulroney Cadieux (Drummond) Murphy Caldwell Gurbin Cardiff Gustafson Nicholson Carney Halliday (Niagara Falls) Cassidy Hamelin Nystrom Champagne (Saint-Hyacinthe— Hamilton Oberle Hardey O'Neil Bagot) Harris Oostrom Champagne Harvey Orlikow (Champlain) Heap Paproski Charest Hees Parry Chartrand Hicks Peterson Clark Hnatyshyn Plourde (Yellowhead) Hockin Porter Holtmann Price (Brandon-Souris) Horner Ravis Clifford Howie Redway Clinch Hudon Reid Cochrane Jacques Reimer Collins James Ricard Comeau Jardine Riis Cook Jelinek Rodriguez Cooper Jepson Roman Corbett St. Germain Jewett Cossitt Johnson St-Julien Côté (Bonavista-Trinity-Schellenberg (Lac-Saint-Jean) (Nanaimo-Alberni) Conception) Côté Joncas Schellenberger (Langelier) Jourdenais (Wetaskiwin) Crofton Keeper Crombie Kelleher (Victoria-Haliburton) Crosbie Scott Kempling (St. John's West) (Hamilton-Wentworth) King Crosby Ladouceur Scowen (Halifax West) Landry Shields Crouse Langdon Siddon Dantzer Lanthier Skelly Darling La Salle Sparrow Daubney Lawrence Speyer de Cotret Layton Stackhouse de Jong Della Noce Leblanc Stevens Lesick Stewart Desjardins Lewis Suluk Desrosiers Lopez Tardif Dewar MacDonald (Charlesbourg) Dick (Kingston and Taylor Domm the Islands) Thacker

MacDougall

MacKay

Mailly

Malone

(Timiskaming)

Toupin

Towers

Tremblay

(Québec-Est)

"(c) aboriginal rights, in particular self-government;"

(g) by adding to paragraph 13 section 50 the following new subsection:

"(3) The Prime Minister shall invite to the Conferences designated in section 50 subsection (2)(c) representatives of the aboriginal peoples of Canada and the governments of the Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory and those groups and governments shall participate fully in all matters that affect aboriginal rights."

(h) by deleting paragraph 16 and substituting the following therefor:

"16. Nothing in section 2 of the Constitution Act, 1867 affects section 25, 27 or 28 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 or class 24 of section 91 of the Constitution.—Mr. Broadbent.

and on the amendment of Mr. Caccia:

That the motion be amended in paragraph 1 of the Schedule

(a) by deleting Section 2.(1) and substituting the following therefor: "2.(1) The Constitution of Canada shall be interpreted in a manner consistent with the recognition that Canada constitutes aboriginal and multicultural societies, with English and French as the official languages of Canada, French-speaking Canadians being centred in Quebec but also present elsewhere in Canada and English-speaking Canadians concentrated outside Quebec but also present in Quebec". (b) by deleting Section 2.(3).

and on the amendment of Mr. Allmand.

That the motion be amended in paragraph 1 of the Schedule by adding immediately after subsection 2.(4) the following:

"(5) Nothing in this section derogates from any of the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms."

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to order adopted Thursday, October 1, 1987, the House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred division on the amendment of Mr. Turner (Vancouver Quadra) to the motion on the constitutional amendment, 1987.

Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Dispense.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the amendment.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Turner (Vancouver Quadra)) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 285)

YEAS

Members

Allmand
Axworthy
Baker
Boudria
Copps
de Corneille
Dingwall
Finestone
Foster
Frith
Gagliano
Garneau
Gauthier
Gray
(Windsor West)

Grondin
Guilbault
(Saint-Jacques)
Henderson
Hopkins
Isabelle
Kaplan
Killens
Lapierre
MacLellan
Malépart
Marchi
Nicholson

(Trinity)

Nunziata

Ouellet
Penner
Pépin
Prud'homme
Robichaud
Rompkey
Rossi
Tardif
(Richmond—Wolfe)
Tobin
Turner

urner (Vancouver Quadra)—37 Dorin

Duguay

Duplessis

Edwards