presently requires, resolves that Bill C-124 be not now read a second time but that the subject-matter thereof be referred to the Standing Committee on Miscellaneous Estimates."

By the indulgence of the House, the question of the validity of the motion was put aside in order to deal with another point. There is a standard form of amendment to the effect that the subject-matter of a bill may be referred to a Standing Committee. This motion, the Chair suggests, should be in a pure form and should not contain assertions which could only be considered points for debate. However, other matters are set forth in the motion and they make the motion unacceptable.

As Mr. Speaker ruled on January 26, 1971: "It is not a reasoned amendment. It is largely a deviation or a change from the old established form of amendment which provides that the subject-matter of a bill or a motion before the House be referred to a special committee or a Standing Committee. What I believe is objectionable from a procedural standpoint in connection with this proposed amendment is that it goes into the details of the bill.

I also have some reservations about the suggestion that the bill should be referred to the Standing Committee on Miscellaneous Estimates.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Andras, seconded by Mr. MacEachen,-That Bill C-124, An Act to amend the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1971 (No. 1), be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

After further debate, the question being put on the said motion, it was agreed to on the following division:

## (Division No. 8)

# YEAS

### Messrs.

Allmand	Côté	Gillespie
Andras	Cullen	Gleave
Basford	Cyr	Godin
Beaudoin	Davis	Gray
Béchard	De Bané	Grier
Bégin (Miss)	Demers	Guay
Benjamin	Dionne	(St. Boniface)
Blais	Douglas	Guay (Lévis)
Blaker	Drury	Guilbault
Boisvert	Dubé	Haidasz
Boulanger	Dupont	Harding
Breau	Dupras	Herbert
Brewin	Duquet	Hopkins
Broadbent	Ethier	Howard
Buchanan	Faulkner	Hymmen
Caccia	Firth	Jamieson
Cafik	Fleming	Jerome
Campbell	Foster	Knight
Caouette	Fox	Knowles (Winnipes
(Charlevoix)	Gauthier (Roberval)	North Centre)
Caron	Gauthier	Lachance
Clermont	(Ottawa East)	Laflamme
Corbin	Gendron	Lajoie
Corrivenu	Cilbert	Lalanda

#### Messrs.

Lambert	Matte	Rose
(Bellechasse)	McRae	Rowland
Langlois	Morin (Mrs.)	Roy (Laval)
Laniel	Munro	Saltsman
Laprise	(Hamilton East)	Sauvé (Mrs.)
La Salle	Neale	Sharp
Latulippe	(Vancouver East)	Smith
Leblanc (Laurier)	Nesdoly	(Northumberland-
LeBlanc	Nystrom	Miramichi)
(Westmorland-	Olaussen	Smith (Saint-Jean)
Kent)	Olivier	Stanbury
Lefebvre	Orlikow	Stewart (Okanagan-
Leggatt	Ouellet	Kootenay)
Lessard	Pelletier	Stewart (Cochrane)
Lewis	(Hochelaga)	Stollery
L'Heureux	Pelletier	Symes
Loiselle	(Sherbrooke)	Thomas (Maison-
MacDonald	Penner	neuve-Rosemont)
(Cardigan)	Peters	Trudeau
Macdonald	Portelance	Trudel
(Rosedale)	Poulin	Turner (London
MacEachen	Prud'homme	East)
MacGuigan	Railton	Turner
MacInnis (Mrs.)	Reid	(Ottawa-Carleton)
Mackasey	Richardson	Walker
Marceau	Rodriguez	Watson
Marchand	Rompkey	Whelan
(Langelier)	Rondeau	Whicher
Marchand	Rooney ·	Yanakis—139.
(Kamloops-		
Cariboo)		
The Property of the Control of the C		

#### NAYS

#### Messrs

Alexander	Haliburton	Mazankowski
Alkenbrack	Hamilton	McCain
Andre	(Qu'Appelle-	McCleave
Arrol	Moose Mountain)	McGrath
Atkey	Hamilton	McKenzie
Baker	(Swift Current-	McKinley
Baldwin	Maple Creek)	Mitges
Balfour	Hargrave	Muir
Bawden	Hellyer	Munro (Esquimalt-
Beattie	Higson	Saanich)
(Hamilton	Hollands	Murta
Mountain)	Holmes	Neil (Moose Jaw)
Beatty (Wellington-	Horner (Crowfoot)	Nesbitt
Grey-Dufferin-	Horner	Nielsen
Waterloo)	(Battleford-	Nowlan
Bell	Kindersley)	Oberle
Blenkarn	Hueglin	O'Connor
Clark	Hurlburt	O'Sullivan
(Rocky Mountain)	Jarvis	Paproski
Clarke	Kempling	Reilly
(Vancouver	Knowles (Norfolk-	Reynolds
Quadra)	Haldimand)	Ritchie
Coates	Kuntz	Roche
Cossitt	Lambert	Schellenberger
Crouse	(Edmonton West)	Scott
Danforth	Lawrence	Skoreyko
Darling	MacDonald	Stackhouse
Dick	(Egmont)	Stanfield
Dinsdale	MacDonald (Miss)	Stevens
Ellis	(Kingston and	Stewart (Marquette)
Fairweather	the Islands)	Taylor
Forrestall	MacInnis	Thomas (Moncton)
Frank	(Cape Breton-East	Towers
Fraser	Richmond)	Wagner
Gillies	MacKay	Whittaker
Grafftey	Macquarrie	Wise
Hales	Madill	Woolliams
	Masniuk	Yewchuk—92.