Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

That the amendment be amended by deleting the period at the end thereof and adding the following:

"and its implications on the economic and political sovereignty of Canada."

The House divided on the amendment to the amendment (Ms. McDonald), which was negatived on the following division:

During the taking of the vote:

Mr. Speaker: I hesitate to interrupt the vote but I am bound by the rules of this place. May I ask Hon. Members, having made the point, to co-operate with the Chair and take down the flags.

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Speaker: I know that all Hon. Members know that this is the end of a debate which is of great importance to the country and to this House. But there is another issue here, and that is how we handle ourselves. I would ask the co-operation of Hon. Members.

Perhaps I can ask other Hon. Members, in return for the cooperation of some others, to remove the buttons.

(Division No. 568)

YEAS

Members

Allmand	Gray	Nicholson
Althouse	(Windsor West)	(Trinity)
Angus	Guilbault	Nunziata
Axworthy	(Saint-Jacques)	Nystrom
Baker	Harris	Orlikow
Benjamin	Неар	Ouellet
Berger	Hopkins	Parry
Blackburn	Hovdebo	Pépin
(Brant)	Isabelle	Prud'homme
Blaikie	Jewett	Riis
Boudria	Kaplan	Robichaud
Broadbent	Keeper	Robinson
Caccia	Killens	Rodriguez
Cassidy	Langdon	Rompkey
Copps	Lapierre	Rossi
de Jong	MacLellan	Skelly
Dewar	Manly	Tardif
Epp	Marchi	(Richmond-Wolfe)
(Thunder Bay-	McCurdy	Tobin
Nipigon)	McDonald	Turner
Finestone	(Broadview—	(Vancouver Quadra)
Foster	Greenwood)	Waddell
Fulton	McLaughlin	Young—64
Gagliano	Mitchell	
Garneau	Murphy	
Gauthier		

NAYS

Members

Andre	Bissonnette	Bosley
Attewell	Blackburn	Bouchard
Beatty	(Jonquière)	(Roberval)
Belsher	Blais	Bouchard
Bernier	Blenkarn	(Lac-Saint-Jean)
Bertrand	Blouin	Bourgault

Boyer	Halliday	Nickerson
Bradley	Hamelin	Oberle
Brightwell	Hamilton	O'Neil
Brisco	Hardey	Oostrom
Browes	Harvey	Paproski
Cadieux	Hawkes	Pennock
Caldwell	Hees	Peterson
Cardiff	Hicks	Pietz
Champagne	Hnatyshyn	Plourde
(Saint-Hyacinthe-	Hockin	Porter
Bagot)	Holtmann	Price
Champagne	Horner	Ravis
(Champlain)	Howie	Redway
Charest	Hudon	Reid
Chartrand	Jacques	Reimer
Clark	James	Ricard
(Yellowhead)	Jardine	Roman
Clifford	Jepson	St. Germain
Clinch	Johnson	St-Julien
Coates	(Bonavista-Trinity-	Schellenberg
Cochrane	Conception)	(Nanaimo-Alberni)
Collins	Johnston	Scott
Comeau	(Saint-Henri-	(Victoria—Haliburton)
Cook	Westmount)	Scowen
Corbett	Joncas	Shields
Cossitt	Jourdenais	Siddon
Crofton	Kelleher	Sparrow
Crosbie	Kempling	Stackhouse
(St. John's West)	Kilgour	Stevens
Crosby	Kindy	Stewart
(Halifax West)	King	Suluk
Crouse	Ladouceur	Tardif
Dantzer	Lanthier	(Charlesbourg)
Darling	Layton	Taylor
Daubney	Leblanc	Thacker
de Cotret	Lesick	Toupin
Della Noce	Lewis	Towers
Desjardins	Lopez	Tremblay
Domm	MacDonald	(Québec-Est)
Dorin	(Kingston and	Tremblay
Duguay Edwards	the Islands)	(Lotbinière)
Ellis	MacDougall	Tupper Turner
Epp	(Timiskaming) Mailly	
(Provencher)	Malone	(Ottawa—Carleton) Valcourt
Ferland	Mantha	Van De Walle
Fontaine	Marin	Vankoughnet
Forrestall	Martin	Vézina
Fraleigh	Masse	Vincent
Fretz	Mayer	Weiner
Friesen	Mazankowski	Wenman
Gass	McCain	White
Gervais	McCrossan	Wilson
Girard	McCuish	(Swift Current
Gormley	McDermid	—Maple Creek)
Gottselig	McInnes	Wilson
Graham	McKinnon	(Etobicoke
Gray	McKnight	Centre)
(Bonaventure—Îles-de-	McLean	Winegard
la-Madeleine)	McMillan	Wise
Grisé	Merrithew	Witer—179
Guilbault	Minaker	
(Drummond)	Mitges	
Gurbin	Moore	
Gustafson	Mulroney	

• (1830)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment to the amendment lost.

I would ask for the attention of Hon. Members for just a moment. The rules of decorum in this place are primarily designed to maintain order. There is no magic precedent for what on another occasion was allowed or not allowed. I have asked Hon. Members to co-operate, and for the most part they have. There are some Hon. Members who are not yet co-