STANDING COMMITTEES

Right Hon. L. B. Pearson (Prime Minister) moved:

That a special committee be appointed to prepare and report, with all convenient speed, lists of members to compose the standing committees of this house; the said committee to be composed of Messrs. Churchill, Favreau, Gregoire, Knowles, Leboe, Walker and Winkler, and that the provisions of standing order 65 (1) be suspended in relation to the number of members thereon.

Motion agreed to.

THE MINISTRY

ANNOUNCEMENT OF MINISTERIAL CHANGES

Right Hon. L. B. Pearson (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, I wish to advise the house of certain changes in the ministry since the prorogation of parliament on December 21, 1963. These changes, 12 in number, took effect on the 3rd day of February, 1964. There were three resignations, Mr. Speaker, and in mentioning them I should like to pay my own tribute to the years of devoted service that these three gentlemen have rendered to parliament. Two of them are continuing that service. The resignations were: Hon. Lionel Chevrier, as minister of justice and attorney general; Hon. William Ross Macdonald as a journed at 4.12 p.m.

Business of the House

member of the administration, and Hon. Azellus Denis as postmaster general.

The appointments, Mr. Speaker, are: Hon. J. W. Pickersgill as Minister of Transport; Hon. G. J. McIlraith as President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada; Hon. Maurice Lamontagne as Secretary of State for Canada; Hon. Guy Favreau as Minister of Justice and Attorney General; Hon. J. R. Nicholson as Postmaster General; Hon. Rene Tremblay as Minister of Citizenship and Immigration; Hon. J. J. Connolly as a member of the administration; Hon. Maurice Sauve as Minister of Forestry, and Hon. Yvon Dupuis as a member of the administration.

HOUSE OF COMMONS

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

Right Hon. L. B. Pearson (Prime Minister) moved:

That Herman Maxwell Batten, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Humber-St. George's, be appointed deputy chairman of committees of the whole house.

Motion agreed to.

On motion of Mr. Pearson the house ad-